Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$24.99 Save 37% Compare at $39.95
See Photo (99) Reset selected color
Loading
In Stock 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Mountainsmith Pinnacle Trekking Poles

Closeouts. Reach the pinnacle of your adventure with this pair of Mountainsmith trekking poles, offering adjustable length and a built-in anti-shock mechanism that can be switched on for accents and off for stability during descents.

Specs

Specs about Mountainsmith Pinnacle Trekking Poles

  • Number of sections: 3
  • Adjustable: Yes
  • Lock mechanism: Twist lock
  • Length: 27" (68.5cm) to 53" (134.6cm)
  • Anti-shock: Yes
  • Basket type: Trekking
  • Tip material: Carbide
  • Single/Pair: Pair
  • Shaft material: 6061 aluminum alloy
  • Handle material: TPR
  • Weight: 1 lb. 8 oz.
  • Recommended use: Hiking/trekking
  • Made in China
  • Colors and graphics vary but all features remain unchanged
  • Prop 65: This product may contain a chemical or substance known to the state of California to potentially cause reproductive harm
  • Visit our Trekking Pole Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.193784 5 Overall Rating: 4.2 Based on 547 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Adjustment technique is all in the wrist
Reviewed by Gregory Peccary from So. Fla/Sonoran Desert on Wednesday, May 23, 2012
These seem well-made and I expect them to serve well as an introduction this newfangled (to me) way of hiking. A word about adjusting the length (which is not described here, nor in the info that comes with the product, nor on Mountainsmith's webpage describing the poles). Do not attempt to use th... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Mountainsmith-Pinnacle-Trekking-Poles Remove reviews search
  • Satisfied Customer
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scout from Lousiana on Tuesday, June 26, 2018
    Very satisfied with the purchase of this product of excellent quality and price.
  • GREAT VALUE - GREAT PRODUCT!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Hiker from Central New Mexico on Wednesday, June 20, 2018
    My neurologist recently told me in order to walk safely, I needed TWO walking poles and not the one walking stick I’ve been using for years. He said I didn’t need a Gold-plated $200 pair, just a pair that was adjustable and well-made. I immediately knew where I was shopping - STP! Not only do these meet my needs perfectly, the price is great! They are lightweight but very sturdy, easy to adjust (contrary to posted comments), and STP’s website is very educational on how to select and use walking poles correctly. I’m walking with a new sense of security, getting a bit of upper body workout, and my knees haven’t felt this good for sometime. If you’re a walker, you should give these a look!!
  • Grat value
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiking trucker from California on Saturday, April 14, 2018
    High quality at a time very reasonable price .
  • Pinnacle Trekking Poles Work Well
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kris hikes Flagstaff from Flagstaff, Az on Thursday, March 8, 2018
    I've used them twice since my purchase. The poles are easy to adjust, lock in place well and work as advertised. The only negative feedback relates to the straps. The straps are very narrow and unpadded. I was hiking in 20 degree weather so I had gloves on. I imagine that the straps may become uncomfortable without gloves on long hikes. Other than that minor issue, these are great budget priced trekking poles.
  • Can't find a better set of poles for the $$$
    Reviewed by Kurt from Denver NC on Sunday, February 4, 2018
    I have owned these poles for almost 3yrs and have logged over 1K miles on them.
    My wife and I share a pair, as neither of us care for the locomotion experience of using 2 poles at a time.

    The long and the short of it is these poles stay in the back of the car and hit the trail with us on every hike!
    They are comfortable, and great for a range of heights. I'm 5'8 and my wife is 6', and she actually likes it set longer than me relative to our height.
    They take a good bit of abuse, and contrary to other reviews that say they are easy to bend, I think they have held up well.
    Of course the tips wear through, but what pole doesn't?

    For under $30 you are not going to get another name brand trekking pole set that hold up as long!

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “How do I get new baskets? Mine both broke off the first time I used them. ”
    Asked by JB from WA on 1/19/2017 5:11:56 PM
    • Three suggestions - go to your local Walmart, REI or order a new pair from the Mountainsmith website, $5.95 a pair - http://mountainsmith.com/snow-baskets.html
      Answered on 1/19/2017 8:05:10 PM by Jimmy from Atlanta
    • First I'd contact the manufacturer. If they're no help, new baskets are readily available from stores like REI Co-Op. Good luck! (I don't use baskets, but the tips on these poles do tend to fall off easily.)
      Answered on 1/19/2017 9:14:01 PM by Paula from New Mexico
    • You should probably contact the manufacturer, or STP customer service. Mine are still fine, though I don't really need them since I don't use the poles in snow.
      Answered on 1/20/2017 12:05:19 AM by Uncivlized in the PNW from Seattle
    • Please contact customer service via 24/7 online chat, by email: customerservice@sierratradingpost.com or by phone: 1-800-713-4534.
      Answered on 1/20/2017 9:47:13 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
    • I have not tried myself but I assume that contacting Mountainsmith would be the most likely option. I have not broken mine yet but have thought about getting spares in case they discontinue this model and/or replacement parts. Please update us on your progress
      Answered on 1/23/2017 6:17:26 AM by Swiss Army Bob from West Virginia
  • “Are this collapsable?”
    Asked by Bella1 from California on 12/6/2016 6:34:09 PM
    • Yes the poles can be collapsed down to 27" so you could put them in a backpack.
      Answered on 12/7/2016 5:20:14 AM by so cal hiker from Southern California
    • They can be shortened and extended. It is basically two parts. The thicker pole with the handle and the narrower pole at the end. The narrow part can be adjusted for the length. But it is not collapsable.
      Answered on 12/7/2016 5:57:02 AM by Blue Crab from Maryland
    • The poles are telescoping and can be condensed to approximately 27 inches long or expanded up to 53 inches but they do not "collapse" in the sense that a wading staff used for fishing collapses and folds up.
      Answered on 12/7/2016 9:00:58 AM by Swiss Army Bob from West Virginia
    • According to information listed under the product overview tab: High-strength 6061 aluminum shaft adjusts 27-53" in length
      Answered on 12/7/2016 11:27:40 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Can the tips of these poles be replaced when they wear out?”
    Asked by Sean from Kentucky on 4/13/2016 11:02:37 PM
    • Yes the tips can be replaced.
      Answered on 4/14/2016 6:03:14 AM by PK Lopez from Richmond,MA
  • “Are snow baskets available for these trekking poles?”
    Asked by Curly from Oregon on 11/17/2014 6:19:50 PM
    • Yes, it does come with snow baskets. They are removable for your convenience to be able to use them in dry rocky conditions.
      Answered on 11/17/2014 7:19:40 PM by Captain Iguana from Alaska
    • They do include a fairly rudimentary pair of snow baskets. Solid molded plastic and seam to stay secure fairly well. They are more than serviceable but not sure they could be trusted to stay attached on an aggressive trail. I haven't had the chance to use them with the baskets attached, yet. For the price, not bad, though.
      Answered on 11/17/2014 7:39:08 PM by T the Rocky's Destroyer from Colorado
    • I don't know if you can purchase snow baskets. The ones that come with them are small, not for deep soft snow.
      Answered on 11/17/2014 9:12:21 PM by Maceedoodle from Washington
    • When I bought ours from STP, they actually came with the snow baskets along with rubber tips that can be taken on and off. So, from my limited experience of one purchase, these are included. Hope this helps.
      Answered on 11/17/2014 9:19:12 PM by SkeeterB767 from Colorado
    • No snow baskets were provided with the poles but the manufacturer might have them available. I never intended using the poles in snow so I paid it no mind. I might add that they are very good for normal hiking and easily match the performance of some expensive poles I had purchased several years ago.
      Answered on 11/17/2014 10:10:31 PM by Ray the cycling fool from Michigan
    • Yes, these poles come with snow baskets
      Answered on 11/18/2014 4:39:50 AM by DK from Upstate NY from Upstate, NY
    • The snow baskets are included.
      Answered on 11/18/2014 5:09:28 AM by Paul from Michigan
    • Mine came with baskets but I have yet to put them on (no snow yet).
      Answered on 11/18/2014 2:51:36 PM by Ed from NYC
    • Yes there are snow baskets available that can be taken off if needed.
      Answered on 11/19/2014 10:09:58 AM by Canyon Runner from South Dakota
    • Snow baskets are available from the manufacturer in a 3.5" width (check the Mountainsmith website). If you read the description, you will see that the baskets that come with these poles are trekking baskets, not sufficiently wide enough for soft or deep snow.
      Answered on 11/8/2015 12:16:56 PM by AZ_Hiker from Flagstaff
  • “Does one pole weight 1 lb 8 oz or is that the weight of 2 poles together. One place it seems to indicate the pair weight -vs- the individual weight. Please clarify. Thanks”
    Asked by Hillienc from WNC on 1/25/2014 7:00:27 AM
    • Both poles together weigh 1Lb 5oz. with out the snow baskets or rubber tips. With the tips or baskets on the pair comes to about 1 Lb 9oz.
      Note: In freezing weather the snow baskets will become brittle and break.These are great trekking poles for about any conditions.
      Alpine
      Answered on 1/25/2014 7:08:49 AM by Alpine from Alpine Wyoming
    • If you've read me review, you'll know that I only have one pole left. Having just weighed it, I got just about 310 grams, or, 11 oz. I removed the straps, (when I fall, I try and get those buggers as far away from me without losing them as I can,) which probably adds another 30 grams or so. All tolled: 340 grams for one, 680 for two, or; 12 oz for one, 1 lb 8 oz for two.
      Answered on 1/26/2014 4:43:37 AM by Adam from Jackson Heights, NY
    • I just put the two poles together on a scale and weighed them at 1 lb. 6 oz. with the baskets.
      Answered on 1/26/2014 6:53:03 PM by Cavebird from Gainesville, Georgia

About Mountainsmith

Founded in 1979 by legendary outdoorsman Patrick Smith, the Mountainsmith brand has become synonymous with rugged, adventure-ready gear, including tents, sleeping bags, backpacks, fanny packs, trekking poles and the popular modular hauler system. For more than 35 years, Mountainsmith backpacks and lumbar packs have been engineered to meet the rigorous demands of backcountry adventure. Whether it’s an alpine climbing expedition or an easygoing day hike, you can trust these products to go the distance. Experience the difference for yourself, and you’ll quickly understand why Mountainsmith is fittingly represented by an anvil logo. Mountainsmith backpacks, tents and camping gear are simply among the most reliable on the market today.