Customer Reviews Of:
Mountainsmith Tent V-Stakes - Aluminum, Pack of Eight

Closeouts. Never be frustrated by hard ground or bent stakes again. Mountainsmith's aluminum V-Stakes are extra durable, lightweight and notched for guy lines.

Average Rating based on 108 reviews 4.185185 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 11
  • Reviewed by E. R. from Utah on Wednesday, September 6, 2017
    The tops of 3 stakes bent on first use. The ground was not that rocky - I was at a national park campground where they always smooth out the ground. The rest bent on the second use. I have some DAC stakes that came with my Big Agnes copper spur tent (that I only use for backpacking) and those have never bent. I have used them for years in the rockiest of backcountry areas, so I don't think it was user error.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiking Cascades from Seattle on Wednesday, September 6, 2017
    These are tent stakes that are durable and easy to use, yet lightweight for backpacking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ak782226 from Ohio on Tuesday, June 13, 2017
    The price is ok. Durable and not easy to bend.
  • Reviewed by Colorado Dreamer from Cincinnati, OH on Friday, June 9, 2017
    I ordered these in conjunction with my new tent ordered from here. This is my third set of these, I order these stakes with all my purchases of shelters, tents and canopies. Usually the included tent stakes are of no use, throw those things out...we don't have time for [...] stakes. These are where it's at. They take lots of abuse, been smashed into the ground with rocks, shoes, tree branches, backs of axes, and they hold up. They stay in the ground and keep that tent planted on some terra firma. Love the V-notches, make me feel extra confident about my tent not flying away. I pity the fool who doesn't use these.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HikingWombat from Missouri on Friday, June 2, 2017
    Third set of these I have purchased, price is reasonable. Product holds up well. Purchased additional stakes to avoid having to swap stakes back and forth between tents, and, admit it, every now and then I'll lose one. Recommendation that you purchase these in conjunction with other items to avoid having to pay for shipping.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by spoon from Baker WV on Thursday, May 18, 2017
    These tent stakes are durable and has so many uses with tarps and any thing you want to tie down as well as tents.And you get 8 per order.Have used these for over a year for tie down for tarps and when saw they still had them avaiable picked up a few more sets.They are durable and easy to use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PG from Cali on Monday, May 1, 2017
    Not the best build quality, quite small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bama Hiker from Shiregrass of Alabama on Friday, January 27, 2017
    These are a great alternative to the heavy metal tent stakes that come with most tents. They are about 1/4 to 1/2 the weight of most tent stakes, very durable and pack nicely together for less bulk. The design shape makes them very difficult to bend, so you can lash your tent cords in the center of the stake and wedge them in between or behind roots and rocks as an alternative method of securing your tent. Happy camping!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stella from VA on Monday, December 19, 2016
    works well and doesn't bend easily. I used these on my AT thru-hike.
  • Reviewed by Yogamom from New Jersey on Tuesday, December 6, 2016
    for backpacking, not car camping.
    just weighed them at 12grams each. There are probably some glass icicles on my Christmas tree that weigh more. They are not some soft aluminum, but a harder "7075" alloy. 3/8" x 3/8" angle has a cylinder joining the two sides (not just folded) which makes them really strong for the amount of mass.
    Overall length of 7", gives you about 6" to put in the ground below the guy line. Given their small size, the notch for the line doesn't work well for rings or webbing (tent corners). I end up fully submerging that last inch once the guy line is adjusted.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 11