Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$8.99 Save 26% Compare at $12.25
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Nikwax Waterproofing Down Proof - 10 fl.oz.

Closeouts. Treat your down gear to a spin through the washer with Nikwax waterproofing down wash; just one cycle through revives insulation, adds water repellency and re-activates breathability.

Specs

Specs about Nikwax Waterproofing Down Proof - 10 fl.oz.

  • Material: Composite bottle and cap
  • Capacity: 10 fl.oz.
  • Weight: 12.8 oz.
  • Dimensions: Diameter 2-1/4", height 7"
  • Made in United Kingdom
  • US shipments only

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.400000 5 Overall Rating: 4.4 Based on 15 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

You don't need as much as the directions say
Reviewed by NCOutdoors from North Carolina on Saturday, February 1, 2014
This product works great but I did not follow their directions. I did not want to use their down wash and I thought the recommended amount was excessive. I washed our 4 down jackets in Dreft on the gentle cycle in my HE front loader washing machine. I then added about a third of a bottle of down p... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Nikwax-Waterproofing-Down-Proof-10-floz Remove reviews search
  • Treat your down self!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by TowerDad from South Dakota on Thursday, December 10, 2015
    Have not used this product yet but have recently decided to start taking care of the items I buy so they actually work continuously like they should throughout their life and also extend their life. I recommend everyone does the same to get their money out of their gear and actually have it perform like it should!
  • Clean your Snow Outerware with NikWax
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by jimlovett from So CAl on Thursday, January 22, 2015
    I have used NikWax products for my family's snowboard outerwear, but first time with their Down cleaner and waterproofing. As easy as their other products and works great for waterproofing. Thanks NikWax, because we look good and ever=n better, smell good.
  • Nikwax
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bev from Montana on Tuesday, December 30, 2014
    I actually haven't used this product yet but I have used many Nikwax products and never been disappointed. They do exactly what they are supposed to do.
  • sent it back
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by DK from Upstate NY from Upstate, NY on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    not exactly what was expected. it is more commercial oriented product that is just distributed in smaller packages
  • Saves on dry cleaning.
    Reviewed by Trail Magic Mom from Maine on Wednesday, April 2, 2014
    I use following a wash with NIKWAX DOWN. Be sure you have a front loading washer machine for down products. The only cleaner I trust on our expensive down coats and sleeping bags.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Is this a wash as well or do you need to use down wash first and then this separately?”
    Asked by Dkhntr from Unknown on 2/19/2013 12:00:00 AM
    • For best results Nikwax recommends using Down Wash to clean item first then use Down Proof.
      Answered on 2/25/2013 12:00:00 AM by Prod Spec Kevin from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Can you use this on a down sleeping bag?? Does it make it somewhat waterproof?|Thanks”
    Asked by Lurp from TN on 1/30/2013 12:00:00 AM
    • The Nikwax Waterproofing Down Proof can be used on sleeping bags and it will make it somewhat waterproof.|•Adds / renews water repellency and revives breathability|•Maintains insulation, keeping you warm|•Minimises weight gain|1.For sleeping bags immerse item(s) in hand hot water in a bowl or bath tub. |2.Apply by hand, agitate and leave to soak for 5 to 10 minutes. |3.Rinse under running water, drain and gently press the sleeping bag to expel excess water. |4.To dry, and only if care label allows, spin dry 3 times and tumble dry on a high setting until all ‘clumps’ have disappeared. |5.Use clean tennis balls or trainers (that won’t melt) in a clean pillow case to help break up clumps when drying.
      Answered on 2/6/2013 12:00:00 AM by Prod Spec Kevin from Sierra Trading Post
  • “How many large washer loads will this do?”
    Asked by Blackhawk from Colorado on 1/27/2013 12:00:00 AM
    • For best results remove all non-washable parts and clean item(s) with Nikwax® Down Wash. No need to dry item before waterproofing. Shake well before use. Follow care label instructions.||Machine Wash:|1.Remove all detergent build-up from the detergent dispenser.|2.Place clean item in washing machine (maximum 1 item).|3.Use 3 full caps (150ml) for 1 item.|4.Run 30° synthetic cycle and slow spin.||Hand Wash (use gloves):|1.Immerse clean item(s) in hand-hot water. For clothing: use 3 full caps (150ml) for 1 item in a bowl and 6 full caps (300ml) for 2 items in a bath tub. Fully submerge item(s) in water. For sleeping bags: use 6 full caps (300ml) in 4cm deep water in a bathtub.*|2.Agitate to mix, leave to soak for 5-10 minutes, then agitate thoroughly. |3.Rinse clothing in cold water until water runs clear. For sleeping bags repeat process, drain and gently press bag to expel excess water. ||Drying: Spin dry 3 times (slow spin). If care label allows, tumble dry according to manufacturer’s instructions on a low setting until ‘clumps’ have disappeared. Shaking and patting the item regularly during drying process will help restore loft to the down. *3-4 season down sleeping bags should be professionally cleaned or waterproofed.||To maintain waterproofing always
      Answered on 2/5/2013 12:00:00 AM by Prod Spec Kevin from Sierra Trading Post
  • “if my jacket is not real down (i think it is down alternative) should i use this product to waterproof it or is there another product that would be better suited to use?”
    Asked by smeggy from south jersey on 11/27/2012 12:00:00 AM
    • If the insulation is not real down you could use these items. Nikwax Wash-In TX Direct Waterproofing Item #71037, Nikwax Wash-In Waterproofing Tech Wash|Item #71040
      Answered on 12/5/2012 12:00:00 AM by Prod Spec Kevin from Sierra Trading Post
  • “is this product suitable for a down jacket?”
    Asked by Anonymous from Unknown on 4/16/2012 12:00:00 AM
    • Yes, it is absolutely suitable for a down jacket. Thanks for asking and have a great day.
      Answered on 4/18/2012 12:00:00 AM by Prod. Spec. Ryan from Sierra Trading Post

About Nikwax

Nikwax was the first company to invent water-based reproofers for outdoor gear, including leather footwear, waterproof jackets, rain pants, down outerwear and sleeping bags. Nikwax Tech Wash is a highly effective cleaner that revitalizes existing waterproofing and breathability as it thoroughly cleans your entire garment. Nikwax waterproofing and fabric treatments include specialized products for nearly every type of outdoor gear and apparel, from tents to hiking boots. Regular treatment with Nikwax products can greatly extend the life of your expensive gear. Products from this brand are also made using non-toxic, non-flammable ingredients that are packaged in recyclable materials and never tested on animals.