Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Outdoor Research Backcountry Boardshorts - UPF 50+ (For Men)

Item #110JP
$19.99 Save 69% Compare at $65.00
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Outdoor Research Backcountry Boardshorts - UPF 50+ (For Men)

Closeouts. Made of breathable, moisture-wicking fabric, Outdoor Research Backcountry boardshorts are a technical warm weather short that's at home on the trail and in the water.

Specs

Specs about Outdoor Research Backcountry Boardshorts - UPF 50+ (For Men)

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

3.428571 5 Overall Rating: 3.4 Based on 7 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Comfy and Versatile
Verified Buyer Reviewed by CreveDawg from Nashville on Thursday, April 7, 2016
Fits true to size and are super comfortable for working out, swimming or just cruising around
Your search for "" returned reviews for Outdoor-Research-Backcountry-Boardshorts-UPF-50-plus--For-Men Remove reviews search
  • Way too big
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Coffee Crazed Consumer from Pacific Northwest on Saturday, March 17, 2018
    Nice fabric. Nice shorts. Good inseam. But these must be made to "new" American standards where what used to be a medium is now considered small. Yep. We're getting bigger as a nation. It's not pretty. Where sizing is ambiguous, like dresses, size creep has been observed. It doesn't make sense when the size is an actual measurement. Size 32 measured 34". So sad. Otherwise they would have been winners. Someone at Goodwill will get a nice pair of shorts, but I hope they try the on first or it will be a donation chain. A belt might help, and the shorts have belt LOOPS, but no belt.
  • WAY more than a little too big
    Reviewed by Coffee Crazed Consumer from Pacific Northwest on Saturday, March 10, 2018
    Outdoor Research makes great stuff. These shorts are nice and light and the right length. I like the color. The pocket is in an unobtrusive place. But, there's no way that size 32 is actually size 32. Maybe they sewed the wrong label in or something, because if I take a swim in these, I think I'll have no more sun protection as they will surely fall off completely. I guess now I need to find a belt that will work with them. Kind of a bummer, because otherwise they're great.
  • versatile & comfortable
    Reviewed by Ecology & Evolutionary Biologist from The Rust Belt on Sunday, February 25, 2018
    These are my favorite shorts for working out, sleeping, swimming, and hiking. They pack down tiny for travel, quick drying, loose but not baggy, a zippered pocket, virtually fade-proof, and practically indestructible. I have a closet shelf dedicated to the 12 or so pairs I've acquired over the past couple of years.
  • High quality
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Forest Gump from Montana on Tuesday, August 9, 2016
    Nice cut, very lightweight stretchy fabric. Streamlined front with a single durable rubber button for added simplicity over the traditional lace up boardshort front. Seems to run slightly large. They were very comfortable in my regular size but I was afraid they would hang too low once wet so I went down one size and it works for me. Single zippered pocket is located smartly for surfing on the outside of the right thigh.
  • No pockets
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by samantha from New York on Tuesday, June 28, 2016
    These shorts are nicely made and the fabric is excellent but they have no pockets. They also run small.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “do they have a liner?”
    Asked by nnk from oh on 3/3/2018 12:48:42 PM
    • These do not have a liner.
      Answered on 3/6/2018 3:36:50 PM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post

About Outdoor Research

The concept for Outdoor Research was devised in 1981 when climber Ron Gregg’s planned ascent of Denali was cut short, ending prematurely with his frostbitten partner being airlifted off a glacier. The cause was a faulty pair of gaiters. During his descent, Gregg resolved himself to create better gear, a resolution that soon led him to build the first pair of award-winning Outdoor Research gaiters. The concept was simple: Make outdoor apparel and gear with a clear focus on reliability. In the many years since, this brand has continued to blaze new trails with cutting-edge products that now include Outdoor Research gloves, jackets, backpacks and Outdoor Research hats, all engineered to exceed expectations in the most demanding conditions on the planet.