Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Mithril Soft Shell Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Mithril jacket provides protection from cold and wet conditions thanks to its Ventia Dry soft shell fabric, exterior seam tape and warm fleece lining.

Average Rating based on 21 reviews 4.476190 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Reviewed by Someone named Sara from Wyoming on Friday, January 1, 2016
    The Ventia fabric of this jacket is outstanding. It absorbed water sometimes instead of repelling it in some downpours, however. Aside from the lightweight and breathability of the jacket, I HATED how short it was; it fits more like a shirt than a jacket, and the described length is a bit deceptive as it is about 1 to 1 1/2 inches shorter in the front than in the back. I am 5'10" and 150 lbs. and the jacket fit well everywhere except in the waist. It didn't even cover my waistline in the front. I ultimately returned it with Sierra's awesome return policy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by EdY from Wilmington, NC on Monday, October 19, 2015
    I haven't been able to test this in extremely wet weather yet, but will follow up on this review once I have. Construction is top-notch though there are not a lot of features (additional pockets, pit zips, etc.). Still, given the screaming deal from STP, I'm very happy with what I got; I've actually had this jacket on my radar for some time as my replacement cold weather shell. Fit is athletic so if you want more than a couple light layers underneath consider going up a size.
  • Reviewed by Chrisb from NewYork on Saturday, April 18, 2015
    I bought this to use as a top layer for snowboarding and as a shoulder-season rain jacket. I don't like whispy, crinkly shells that much. I am 6' tall and 190 lbs. I am sure a large would fit nicely but I bought an XL so I could wear this over my Sz large OR Transcendant Down Hoody on brutal days, and have a bit more flexibility on the slopes. It works great! The fabric is pretty breathable, keeps me dry in the rain or mist, and the fit is what I anticipated. It's a short coat, that hits just below the hips. The down side is that it's basically a no-frills soft-shell with a couple of pockets and a draw string at the waist and hood. I guess I knew that going in to it, but in retrospect I think I might have opted for something with a few more features. particularly for days on the slopes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fisherman 4114 from Pa on Thursday, March 19, 2015
    Jacket is true to size, athletic fit. Comfortable. Would recommend to anyone looking for a soft shell jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Roger from Sierra Nevadas on Sunday, March 15, 2015
    Fit is very comfortable to me. I'm 5'6" 140 and the Small fits nicely... not much fabric wasted. I got a medium at first but it was just a bit too big and the tummy bulged out when I bent forward... made me look pregnant; I'm a dude. Anyway, the small fits so good that I'm not sure how tight it would get with a fluffy mid layer underneath, but I usually layer thinly for high aerobic activities anyway. Seems pretty durable too... time will tell. I'm still in the "break in" period.
  • Reviewed by Scott from North Carolina on Thursday, February 26, 2015
    This jacket is excellent for the price! Looks incredible and seems to be high quality. I like it better than ski jackets I have had that are 3 times the cost. Do yourself a favor and get one before they are gone. I am 5'9" 163 lbs and the medium is a perfect fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ski Idaho from Sandpoint, Idaho on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
    Quality construction, fits true to size, warmer than expected, great in the wind, great looking. I am 6 feet tall and weigh 185 lbs and purchased a large.
  • Reviewed by Randy from Arizona on Monday, February 23, 2015
    Tried a Marmot, but it was a little big for me and I wasn't thrilled with the fire engine red. This looks nice. I am 6'2" and 210 and I go the XL. It fits fine. Room for layer underneath and still good ROM. Back is cut longer than front, which is shorter. I can see with a long torso, front cut might be short, but I have long legs, so it is perfect fit. Seems like will be decently warm ....guess we will see on waterproof.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TG from Alaska on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    fit comfort and warm are perfect ! Love the Jacket for hiking, fishing, trolling, and everything else. My "Go -to" jacket
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Beekeeper skibum from N.J. on Tuesday, February 3, 2015
    Great softshell. Jacket size was a little small I am a XXL but all around a great buy!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3