Customer Reviews Of:
Peregrine by J.G. Glover British Commando Sweater - New Wool (For Men)

Closeouts. Peregrine's Commando sweater by J.G. Glover is ready to tackle action-packed weekends or casual nights out with friends. Quality new wool has rugged details like suede patches on the elbows and shoulders.

Average Rating based on 59 reviews 4.237288 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hjdin alpine from Arizona on Monday, July 4, 2016
    Really well made, super fit, and warmth+. Lots of compliments, too. This one should last forever. You can't beat Peregrine for quality [have a few of their other products] and this one is up to their usual high standards.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jambi from MT on Monday, January 4, 2016
    Got this sweater for my younger brother. He is 6'1", 195 of hulking lean muscle. I want to say 46-48" chest, 34" waist.

    I got him the XL and it fit quite well for him, as he likes things to not feel tight (didn't really look loose)

    The things to note about the sweater are; its slightly European sizing - size up if you're in between, and the fact that it is NOT MERINO WOOL. Merino are a sheep from New Zealand, as in British Merino is not a thing. It is British wool. Still had a very nice hand and was a good fabric, but it simply is not cannot be Merino. The tag said "100% British Wool". Bear that in mind for all of the sweaters by this brand.

    That being said, I would really recommend this sweater. Color was true and it was good quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Disappointed from North Carolina on Tuesday, December 8, 2015
    This is a nice heavy sweater made from "British Wool." It fit well--no issues with the placement of the elbow patches. I would say it is true to size. This is a sweater to be worn outside on cold days.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John in Iowa from Iowa on Saturday, December 5, 2015
    Well made. Tag says you can wash on gentle cycle, cold water. DON'T! It will shrink. Now my daughter loves it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nathan in the Springs from Colorado on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
    First was so nice I bought a second.
  • Reviewed by Wheeler Canyon Ted from Ventura CA on Sunday, January 4, 2015
    I have another Commando style sweater that I got from Cabelas, and it is one if my favorites, so I was a little cautions about this one. Wow, am I happy with this one! It is typical Glover sweater that is really well made, high quality materials, looks great, and is very warm. It is noted as Merino wool, but it is a bit rougher than the typical soft Merino wool. Wore it in very cold weather with a long sleve t-shirt and stayed warm (much warmer than my Cabelas). It could also be a great under layer with a windbreaker or jacket in super cold weather. I am 6'1", 180, and the large fits me well. I think this is going to be one of my favorite sweaters.
  • Reviewed by Bill from Virginia on Thursday, December 5, 2013
    Great deal on the wool sweater I just got.We are expecting an ice storm this weekend.It will be a good time to break it in.
  • Reviewed by Rob from Great Neck on Sunday, October 27, 2013
    I have been purchasing Peregrine sweaters for some time. In general, as many reviewers have commented, they are loose knit and run somewhat large. This sweater, is somewhat different. At the onset, let me say this is a great sweater. The knit on this sweater is a much closer knit than the typical Peregrine. The size indeed runs slightly large, but not as much as other Peregrine's I have bought. Be aware of this when purchasing. The problem with this, though, is that the elbow patches are at a certain length from the armpits. Being 5'9 and 172 pounds, I usually wear a large in sweaters, but in Peregrine, usually medium fits with room to spare. In this sweater, though, the medium still fits but is not as roomy as what I had been accustomed to in a Peregrine sweater. The problem, though, is if purchasing a larger size, the elbow patches will not even be close to where the elbow actually is. Therefore, this sweater really needs to be a fairly god fit to look right. That said, I can not tell you the number of compliments I have received when wearing this sweater for the first time. On sale, it is a great buy and is worth a shot to see if it will work for you
























  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SHG. from Iceland on Saturday, November 17, 2012
    Great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WTS from LISLE ILL 60532 on Tuesday, June 26, 2012
    HARD TO FIND BRITISH CLASSIC
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: none
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cool, High Quality, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6