Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Red Wing Shoes Iron Ranger Cap-Toe Boots - Leather, Factory 2nds (For Men)

Item #280CP
$199.99 Save 37% Compare at $320.00
D Reset selected width
Loading
 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Red Wing Shoes Iron Ranger Cap-Toe Boots - Leather, Factory 2nds (For Men)

Factory 2nds. For the hard-working iron miners who wore Red Wing Heritage's Iron Ranger boots, the double layer of leather over the toe provided an extra measure of safety and durability. This update adds a Vibram®outsole to accompany a classic cap toe.

Specs

Specs about Red Wing Shoes Iron Ranger Cap-Toe Boots - Leather, Factory 2nds (For Men)

  • Upper: Leather
  • Lining: Leather and textile
  • Outsole: Rubber
  • Height: 6"
  • Heel height: 1-1/4"
  • Weight (pair): 3 lb. 8 oz.
  • All specs based on size 10
  • Made in United States of America
  • Visit our Shoe Sizing Guide
  • US shipments only

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.819277 5 Overall Rating: 4.8 Based on 83 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

3rd times the charm with rangers
Verified Buyer Reviewed by JG from Ohiya on Monday, April 16, 2018
So I ended up buying 3 pair. All were flawless by the way. I fully intend on shopping with Sierra in the future.

Ok so first pair (sz 12) was too big outta the box. I sent it back

Second pair (sz11.5) fit real nice and so I wore them all over and outside. Well after several days they loosened... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Red-Wing-Shoes-Iron-Ranger-Cap-Toe-Boots-Leather-Factory-2nds-For-Men Remove reviews search
  • over the top
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ant Ma from taiwan on Sunday, July 1, 2018
    The leather is very well!
  • Good
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Vincent from Newark on Saturday, June 23, 2018
    The leather is very well!
  • over the top
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ailar from Estonia on Friday, June 22, 2018
    I bougt 8083 regular size 9,5 and they are too tight from Red Wings dealer for full price. But from Sierra traiding I bougt 8085 size 10 and extra wide (those fit perfecty??). I really do not notice any flaw. Thank you I’m SUPER happy!
  • over the top
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ailar from Estonia on Friday, June 22, 2018
    I bougt 8083 regular size 9,5 and they are too tight from Red Wings dealer for full price. But from Sierra traiding I bougt 8085 size 10 and extra wide (those fit perfecty??). I really do not notice any flaw. Thank you I’m SUPER happy!
  • Great for gals, too! (might be a bit of an effort to find the right size)
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gloria from Southern California on Friday, June 22, 2018
    I recently purchased several pairs of Red Wing boots for my husband. Of course, I know the reputation for quality--my husband was given a voucher for a pair of Red Wing work boots with the steel toe & metatarsal guards from his workplace some 30 years ago...they have served him well and are still in the garage & don't really look too bad, all things considered...
    But, until now, I've never shelled out any of our own cash and as another reviewer mentioned, I was a bit concerned about buying seconds. Well, maybe we have just been lucky, but every single purchase I have made has resulted in boots with only minor cosmetic issues, if we could even find a flaw at all. My husband is as happy as a clam with his new boots. So, I wanted some for myself to wear to work (I wear Dr. Martens a lot) and I read through all of the reviews here and at Red Wing--of course, most of them were written by men, but there were a few contributions from women, so I followed their advice (all of the shoes and boots I would like in Red Wing's line for women are sized 'B' for width and unfortunately I usually can't even comfortably fit in a 'C' -- drat!) Plus, I understand that the version made for men is tougher. I tried the Merchant oxfords first, and really liked them despite ordering the wrong size (I wasn't sure if I should go down a half size or a whole size, so erred on the side of caution and went with a size 8 as I usually wear a 9.5 or 10 in women's sizing--I don't know my actual Brannock size--it has been many years since I have had that checked--will have to remedy that). I think a 7.5 would have been better, and that is what I ended up with in these Iron Rangers. For me, I went down one size to convert from sizing for men to sizing for women and then went down another down another size and a half as a starting point. I am thinking that women that don't have to deal with the issues of a wide foot or high instep could just go 3 sizes down (mens size 6 approximately equivalent to women's size 9) but I don't think these would work at all for women with narrow feet--I think they would be swimming in these no matter what the heel to toe size is. I bought the oxblood mesa version that has the vibram sole and I am really pleased with them--they look great and I'm sure they will last for years. I was worried the upturned toe would make these boots look like clown shoes on me, since they are a bit longer than expected but they actually look fine. I like the speed lacing (have to admit I never would have thought about that if I hadn't read about it first). I have plenty of toe room, but they are pretty snug across the vamp (started loosening up pretty quickly with wearing them around the house for a few days, but it will still take awhile before they are truly comfortable and I can wear them out & about for the day and probably a month or two before I can wear them for a full 12-14 hour day of work) but the stiff leather at the ankle is going to require a longer break in time for me, even with heavy merino socks. I understand that other, much more experienced Red Wing customers state that it is best to start off with a snug fit to get that customized fit, so I am wondering if I might not really need a size 7 even if it will be a struggle to get my foot into them initially. Time will tell, but the price was such a great deal, I don't mind experimenting to get the right size. (So far, two family members have benefitted from my mistakes!)

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Are these amber Iron Rangers the version with rubber sole?”
    Asked by graham from pennsylvania on 5/9/2018 5:59:51 PM
    • It’s sort of like a rubber... The amber color has the nitrile cork outsole. It’s not the mini Vibram. The nitrile cork is the smooth sole that is pretty good on many surfaces, just not slick surfaces like ice and snow. Amber color doesn’t come in the mini Vibram sole. Mini Vibram is the sole that resembles a low profile commando style.
      Answered on 5/10/2018 4:03:33 AM by JG from Ohio
    • yes they are. at least the ones i got are. i'd verify with the stp chat.
      Answered on 5/10/2018 9:16:02 AM by karlos from idaho
    • According to information listed under the product Overview- Lugged Vibram® rubber outsole
      Answered on 5/10/2018 10:43:32 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Can I return if they don't fit right”
    Asked by August from North Carolina on 5/7/2018 11:44:22 AM
    • Yes.
      Answered on 5/7/2018 12:02:55 PM by John Doe from Illinois
    • https://www.sierratradingpost.com/lp2/policies/#returnpolicy

      According to their return policy, yes!
      Answered on 5/7/2018 12:11:26 PM by Josh from Wisconsin
    • I purchased my normal size and they were far too large. I exchanged them for another size and was offered a store credit that was available immediately for use, so I went and grabbed the next size down about 30 seconds later. If you want a full refund, I believe it will hit your account once they process the return fully (about a week or so). They offer you the choice of those 2 options when you initiate the exchange/return
      Answered on 5/7/2018 12:27:05 PM by Pluto24 from NY
    • Yes. Our return and exchange policy can be viewed here: https://www.sierratradingpost.com/lp2/policies/#returnpolicy
      Answered on 5/8/2018 9:15:37 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
    • Yes there is a 100 % satisfaction guarantee. If returned in original condition within the first 90 days.
      Answered on 5/9/2018 5:40:24 PM by Kponiato from Michigan
  • “With the Goodyear welt construction, is it possible to re-sole this boat. Let me know. Thanks. ”
    Asked by David from New Hampshire on 4/17/2018 6:45:07 AM
    • Yes, it is - at least that is what I was told when I purchased mine at a Red Wing store.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 6:52:53 AM by Andy from Pennsylvania
    • From the research I have done, yes. I have read several multi-year reviews from people saying they have successfully re-soled
      Answered on 4/17/2018 6:59:10 AM by Josh from WISCONSIN
    • Yeah you sure can. One of the best things about these boots!! You can put pretty much any new sole on them you want.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 8:29:45 AM by JG from Ohio
    • Yes, these boots can be resoled. It can be done by sending them to Red Wing, or through any trusted competent cobbler.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 8:33:35 AM by TooManyBoots from Iowa
    • Yes.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 8:48:28 AM by Bernard from NC
    • Yes, you should be able to resole these.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 9:13:51 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
    • Absolutely yes, you can send them directly to Red Wing in MN, or a multitude of independent cobblers. Youtube Red Wing Resole and you can see the process.

      Of note....you can put the white crepe sole, the diamond vibram sole or the smooth nitrate sole on them.

      Buy the boots. You’ll never regret it.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 9:20:14 AM by Bill from Canada
    • Yes, they can last forever with car and a good cobbler.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 9:20:36 PM by Mitch from Sierra Nevada Mts., CA
  • “What kind of conditioner do you prefer to use on your iron Rangers?”
    Asked by michael from Surrey on 3/27/2018 5:19:22 AM
    • Obenauf’s oil and a horse hair brush are all I use.
      Answered on 3/27/2018 5:28:39 AM by John from Louisiana
    • Obenauf’s oil and a horse hair brush are all I use.
      Answered on 3/27/2018 5:29:20 AM by John from Louisiana
    • That's a pretty good question KK. A lot of people fall victim to over oiling their iron Rangers which can be just as bad as under oiling their iron Rangers. If you're going to use this boot as a commuting boot then you won't need a very strong conditioner you'll need a mild conditioner because these boots are already pretty waterproof I mean the leather stick they have a pretty tough finish I mean they're thick oil tanned leather so waterproofing is not your objective unless you're going to be standing out in the mud in the snow which I highly recommend you buy a more modern work boots instead of the Iron Ranger Heritage series. So Hubert shoe oil mink oil or that obenauf's LP will all really darken your boot it'll turn Amber harness into a chocolate brown even almost black dries out a little bit and it will alter any color the copper rough and tough will turn almost Amber harness the oxbloods turn black so you want to stick with something more mild. I highly suggest either using lexol which I don't like but it will never really turn the color of your shoe very dark and you'll get a very nice patina or BlackRock leather n Rich which I do like or skidmores leather conditioner. BlackRock is the more expensive but it smells the best ad if you can't afford it I'd highly suggest you stick with skidmores. I also put a blend of paraffin and Beeswax and melted into the stitching on the bottom of my shoe to prolong the life of that thread and create a little bit of waterproofness within the thread. Make sure you get a coarse brush to brush the mud off the bottoms and the sides of the Soul and make sure you get a soft horse hair brush to brush the mud off of the leather the course brush will scratch the leather and you don't want that. If you put conditioner on them right away please do so sparingly because they already have oil in them I would wear them a little bit take it easy on them break them in and wait a month or two 1 months should be good. Enjoy them as their new because they'll never look that way again and then try to stay out of the water. The care and maintenance of these shoes I pretty much half the fun. By the way I store my iron Rangers in a Cedar Chest and rotate them often so they dry out properly between wears that's another thing you're probably going to need more than one pair. But luckily Sierra Trading Post is generous enough to allow you to buy three pairs a year.
      Answered on 3/27/2018 5:31:17 AM by michael from Buffalo
    • I prefer the “all natural leather conditioner” that Red Wing sells on the heritage site. It’s great on their oil tanned leathers.
      Answered on 3/27/2018 5:55:21 AM by Heldo from MO
    • For starters, I use the Lexol Leather Conditioner. You can buy the kit on Amazon.
      Answered on 3/27/2018 9:17:05 AM by John Doe from Illinois
    • Smith's all natural leather balm.
      Answered on 3/29/2018 9:27:17 PM by Kronos from Alpha Santori
    • Red Wing's Leather Cream which is a blended Neatsfoot oil is great will NOT darken the leather. This cream was recommended to me by the Red Wing saleswoman here in NYC. I have the charcoal R&T and they have not darkened at all.
      Answered on 5/18/2018 10:52:54 AM by Brian the Actor from NYC
    • Check out bees butter. It’s pretty rad. Only a tiny bit is needed. Though you shouldn’t have to condition iron rangers for a good while unless you do
      Something crazy in em.
      Answered on 6/23/2018 8:03:47 AM by JG from Ohio
  • “Can these boots be used for outdoor work? I don't just want a showy boot, I want something that can be put to work ”
    Asked by A Naturalist from San Angelo, TX on 3/23/2018 10:21:18 PM
    • Yah, they're tough. The soles are thinner than a typical work boot (mini-lug vs full lug) but they can take a beating. The leather will need care to last, though. Cleaning, drying, and reoiling will be important steps to keep them in shape. Are they going to be the best work boot? Hell no. Will they hold up with occasional rough treatment and clean up nicely? Absolutely.
      Answered on 3/23/2018 10:53:38 PM by Anthony from Oklahoma
    • These boots are well made. I would think they should hold up well.
      Answered on 3/26/2018 9:15:50 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
    • Yes. While they are stylish, they also have a sturdy construction and a good outdoor sole (on this model). Not the best insulation, so not recommended for long hours in the snow, but dependable outdoors, especially if you keep them conditioned with mink oil or leather conditioner.
      Answered on 3/26/2018 10:04:51 AM by Brad from Michigan
    • Can use them for yard work but the tread isn't very good so I would just use them as an everyday boot more like a commuting boot instead of a real work boot it's for the guy who wants to wear boots instead of sneakers. They're comfortable well-built American-made and they're going to last forever I pretty sure it's one of the best purchases I've made in a long time. My only regret is I didn't buy them 10 years ago.
      Answered on 3/26/2018 10:56:57 PM by michael from Wny
    • You can work and they're tough enough the soul has no traction so I mean if you're working in a factory that you walk through chemicals or you can hit slip slick spots I wouldn't wear them in that setting if you're going to be in mud I don't think they'll the last too long they're Heritage I mean they're like collector's edition made like what a grandfather's used to where will you be scrubbing all the mud and dirt out from the actual stitching and yeah you can wear them but there's more practical work boots out there like for instance I wear my Walmart boots at work because I work with a lot of chemicals and they would eat through these boots in a minute so I feel like these are more of an everyday boot for people who don't want to wear sneakers anymore and want to look grown up I think you should keep it real like modern work boots for working outside.
      Answered on 3/26/2018 11:16:54 PM by michael from Buffalo
    • Within reason, yes. They don't have insulation and are not waterproof, which can be good such as in the summer. Not my first choice of boot for heavy work though. Less expensive hiking or bonafide work boots have a more flexible sole that would be more suitable to bending or kneeling.
      Answered on 4/1/2018 12:19:55 PM by Bernard from NC
    • Depends on the type of work. I mean you can mow the lawn and do regular yard work and do some log splitting.. I wouldn’t do anything like REAL work though... some say these are fashion boots, I don’t really agree with those folks. They are beautiful heavy boots that will withstand a lot of beating, but I mean, why put them through it? So get a couple pair of these so you can rotate them so as you don’t rot them from too much moisture buildup. And get a solid pair of work boots you don’t mind trashing in addition.
      Answered on 6/23/2018 8:09:09 AM by JG from Ohio

About Red Wing Shoes

With a heritage dating back to 1905, Red Wing Shoes are legendary as an American success story. One Red Wing shoe style was standard GI-issue for WWI soldiers, and after emerging successfully from the Great Depression and the Second World War, the Red Wing brand name became synonymous with reliable, comfortable leather shoes and boots. Norman Rockwell, the artist famous for Americana artwork, even created a series of drawings for Red Wing Shoes. In the 1970s, Red Wing Shoes spread to Canada, Mexico, South America and Europe, offering its popular line of leather work boots and shoes. Red Wing has broadened its scope to offer everything from casual leather lace-up shoes and loafers to rugged work boots to thong sandals. Today, Red Wing runs three production facilities employing hundreds of expert craftsmen, but still makes each pair of oxfords, loafers, work boots and athletic shoes by hand.