Free Shipping on Orders $0+ With Code: FREESHIP. See Details.

Red Wing Shoes Iron Ranger Cap-Toe Boots - Leather, Factory 2nds (For Men)

Item #280CP
$199.99 Save 37% Compare at $320.00
D Reset selected width
Loading
 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Red Wing Shoes Iron Ranger Cap-Toe Boots - Leather, Factory 2nds (For Men)

Factory 2nds. For the hard-working iron miners who wore Red Wing Heritage's Iron Ranger boots, the double layer of leather over the toe provided an extra measure of safety and durability.

Specs

Specs about Red Wing Shoes Iron Ranger Cap-Toe Boots - Leather, Factory 2nds (For Men)

  • Upper: Leather
  • Lining: Leather and textile
  • Outsole: Colors (01), (02), (03), (04), (05), (07), (08), (09),(10), (11),(12) have a Vibram® rubber sole, color (06) has a brown nitrile cork sole
  • Height: 6"
  • Heel height: 1-1/4"
  • Weight (pair): 3 lb. 8 oz.
  • All specs based on size 10
  • Made in United States of America
  • Visit our Shoe Sizing Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.714285 5 Overall Rating: 4.7 Based on 91 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

3rd times the charm with rangers
Verified Buyer Reviewed by JG from Ohiya on Monday, April 16, 2018
So I ended up buying 3 pair. All were flawless by the way. I fully intend on shopping with Sierra in the future.

Ok so first pair (sz 12) was too big outta the box. I sent it back

Second pair (sz11.5) fit real nice and so I wore them all over and outside. Well after several days they loosened... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Red-Wing-Shoes-Iron-Ranger-Cap-Toe-Boots-Leather-Factory-2nds-For-Men Remove reviews search
  • Flip-flopped description post-hoc
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by NHGK from Vancouver on Sunday, September 16, 2018
    Disclaimer: I have not worn this product so I cannot make an objective review of the boots.

    STP screwed up big time on their customers. At first, there were two separate items: one for nitrile cork-soled IRs and another for Vibram lug-soled IRs. I distinctly and clearly remember ordering the item with Vibram soles, whose product description clearly mentioned that the boots have Vibram soles even in Amber color.

    I was looking so much forward to having a Vibram soled Amber IRs, but the package I received had nitrile cork soles. I was very confused and checked my order history, only to find out that they changed their product description saying Amber IRs are only shipped with nitrile cork soles. The other post which says nitrile cork soles has been removed.

    I would NOT have ordered the Amber IRs if I knew they ship only in nitrile cork soles. Now I ended up with a $200 boots that I would rather not wear. There is no return for this item, so it's safe to say that STP screwed up big time on my order.


    Nitrile cork soles are not only outdated but are straight out dangerous to wear in the winter. Please do not order their Amber IRs.
  • Flip-flopped description post-hoc
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by NHGK from Vancouver on Sunday, September 16, 2018
    Disclaimer: I have not worn this product so I cannot make an objective review of the boots.

    STP screwed up big time on their customers. At first, there were two separate items: one for nitrile cork-soled IRs and another for Vibram lug-soled IRs. I distinctly and clearly remember ordering the item with Vibram soles, whose product description clearly mentioned that the boots have Vibram soles even in Amber color.

    I was looking so much forward to having a Vibram soled Amber IRs, but the package I received had nitrile cork soles. I was very confused and checked my order history, only to find out that they changed their product description saying Amber IRs are only shipped with nitrile cork soles. The other post which says nitrile cork soles has been removed.

    I would NOT have ordered the Amber IRs if I knew they ship only in nitrile cork soles. Now I ended up with a $200 boots that I would rather not wear. There is no return for this item, so it's safe to say that STP screwed up big time on my order.


    Nitrile cork soles are not only outdated but are straight out dangerous to wear in the winter. Please do not order their Amber IRs.
  • Love them!
    Reviewed by Barry Walstead from Washington on Friday, September 14, 2018
    Okay, they are handmade leather boots, so you will need to put in some time breaking them in.
    But on my second wearing I'm spending most the day wandering around shopping with the wife and kids and they are not to bad.
    I did have to size down a ridiculous, as I normally wear a size 9, I originally ordered an 8, but had to return and the 7.5 is perfect.
    Wonderful boots and I'm not sure what makes them seconds.
  • Runs REALLY large.
    Reviewed by Barry Walstead from Washington on Sunday, September 9, 2018
    I am usually a size 9, so I followed the instructions and ordered an 8. I think I might need a size 7 though!
    Also, I ordered these with the Vibram mini lug sole, but they actually sent a pair with the other sole.
    Oh well, they didn't fit anyway so I'm trying again.
    Beautiful boots with no visible flaws from what I could see.
  • 2nds?
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adam from MS on Wednesday, September 5, 2018
    So these boots had a minor scuff on the back of the heel, thats it. A tiny dab of oil or conditioner and its gone. Very happy with the quality, the only problem is I got the wrong boots. These (according to the description) are supposed to have the vibram mini lug soles, but the ones I got had the slick nitrile cork soles. Very disappointing as I had to send them back. Other than that, the boots were of good quality and appearance for 2nds.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “What is the model number on the brown?”
    Asked by Jerry from Alabama on 9/5/2018 7:00:19 AM
    • 8111
      Answered on 9/5/2018 8:20:11 AM by JG from Ohio
  • “Are these amber Iron Rangers the version with rubber sole?”
    Asked by graham from pennsylvania on 5/9/2018 5:59:51 PM
    • It’s sort of like a rubber... The amber color has the nitrile cork outsole. It’s not the mini Vibram. The nitrile cork is the smooth sole that is pretty good on many surfaces, just not slick surfaces like ice and snow. Amber color doesn’t come in the mini Vibram sole. Mini Vibram is the sole that resembles a low profile commando style.
      Answered on 5/10/2018 4:03:33 AM by JG from Ohio
    • yes they are. at least the ones i got are. i'd verify with the stp chat.
      Answered on 5/10/2018 9:16:02 AM by karlos from idaho
    • According to information listed under the product Overview- Lugged Vibram® rubber outsole
      Answered on 5/10/2018 10:43:32 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
  • “Can I return if they don't fit right”
    Asked by August from North Carolina on 5/7/2018 11:44:22 AM
    • Yes.
      Answered on 5/7/2018 12:02:55 PM by John Doe from Illinois
    • https://www.sierratradingpost.com/lp2/policies/#returnpolicy

      According to their return policy, yes!
      Answered on 5/7/2018 12:11:26 PM by Josh from Wisconsin
    • I purchased my normal size and they were far too large. I exchanged them for another size and was offered a store credit that was available immediately for use, so I went and grabbed the next size down about 30 seconds later. If you want a full refund, I believe it will hit your account once they process the return fully (about a week or so). They offer you the choice of those 2 options when you initiate the exchange/return
      Answered on 5/7/2018 12:27:05 PM by Pluto24 from NY
    • Yes. Our return and exchange policy can be viewed here: https://www.sierratradingpost.com/lp2/policies/#returnpolicy
      Answered on 5/8/2018 9:15:37 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
    • Yes there is a 100 % satisfaction guarantee. If returned in original condition within the first 90 days.
      Answered on 5/9/2018 5:40:24 PM by Kponiato from Michigan
  • “With the Goodyear welt construction, is it possible to re-sole this boat. Let me know. Thanks. ”
    Asked by David from New Hampshire on 4/17/2018 6:45:07 AM
    • Yes, it is - at least that is what I was told when I purchased mine at a Red Wing store.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 6:52:53 AM by Andy from Pennsylvania
    • From the research I have done, yes. I have read several multi-year reviews from people saying they have successfully re-soled
      Answered on 4/17/2018 6:59:10 AM by Josh from WISCONSIN
    • Yeah you sure can. One of the best things about these boots!! You can put pretty much any new sole on them you want.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 8:29:45 AM by JG from Ohio
    • Yes, these boots can be resoled. It can be done by sending them to Red Wing, or through any trusted competent cobbler.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 8:33:35 AM by TooManyBoots from Iowa
    • Yes.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 8:48:28 AM by Bernard from NC
    • Yes, you should be able to resole these.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 9:13:51 AM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post
    • Absolutely yes, you can send them directly to Red Wing in MN, or a multitude of independent cobblers. Youtube Red Wing Resole and you can see the process.

      Of note....you can put the white crepe sole, the diamond vibram sole or the smooth nitrate sole on them.

      Buy the boots. You’ll never regret it.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 9:20:14 AM by Bill from Canada
    • Yes, they can last forever with car and a good cobbler.
      Answered on 4/17/2018 9:20:36 PM by Mitch from Sierra Nevada Mts., CA
  • “What kind of conditioner do you prefer to use on your iron Rangers?”
    Asked by michael from Surrey on 3/27/2018 5:19:22 AM
    • Obenauf’s oil and a horse hair brush are all I use.
      Answered on 3/27/2018 5:28:39 AM by John from Louisiana
    • Obenauf’s oil and a horse hair brush are all I use.
      Answered on 3/27/2018 5:29:20 AM by John from Louisiana
    • That's a pretty good question KK. A lot of people fall victim to over oiling their iron Rangers which can be just as bad as under oiling their iron Rangers. If you're going to use this boot as a commuting boot then you won't need a very strong conditioner you'll need a mild conditioner because these boots are already pretty waterproof I mean the leather stick they have a pretty tough finish I mean they're thick oil tanned leather so waterproofing is not your objective unless you're going to be standing out in the mud in the snow which I highly recommend you buy a more modern work boots instead of the Iron Ranger Heritage series. So Hubert shoe oil mink oil or that obenauf's LP will all really darken your boot it'll turn Amber harness into a chocolate brown even almost black dries out a little bit and it will alter any color the copper rough and tough will turn almost Amber harness the oxbloods turn black so you want to stick with something more mild. I highly suggest either using lexol which I don't like but it will never really turn the color of your shoe very dark and you'll get a very nice patina or BlackRock leather n Rich which I do like or skidmores leather conditioner. BlackRock is the more expensive but it smells the best ad if you can't afford it I'd highly suggest you stick with skidmores. I also put a blend of paraffin and Beeswax and melted into the stitching on the bottom of my shoe to prolong the life of that thread and create a little bit of waterproofness within the thread. Make sure you get a coarse brush to brush the mud off the bottoms and the sides of the Soul and make sure you get a soft horse hair brush to brush the mud off of the leather the course brush will scratch the leather and you don't want that. If you put conditioner on them right away please do so sparingly because they already have oil in them I would wear them a little bit take it easy on them break them in and wait a month or two 1 months should be good. Enjoy them as their new because they'll never look that way again and then try to stay out of the water. The care and maintenance of these shoes I pretty much half the fun. By the way I store my iron Rangers in a Cedar Chest and rotate them often so they dry out properly between wears that's another thing you're probably going to need more than one pair. But luckily Sierra Trading Post is generous enough to allow you to buy three pairs a year.
      Answered on 3/27/2018 5:31:17 AM by michael from Buffalo
    • I prefer the “all natural leather conditioner” that Red Wing sells on the heritage site. It’s great on their oil tanned leathers.
      Answered on 3/27/2018 5:55:21 AM by Heldo from MO
    • For starters, I use the Lexol Leather Conditioner. You can buy the kit on Amazon.
      Answered on 3/27/2018 9:17:05 AM by John Doe from Illinois
    • Smith's all natural leather balm.
      Answered on 3/29/2018 9:27:17 PM by Kronos from Alpha Santori
    • Red Wing's Leather Cream which is a blended Neatsfoot oil is great will NOT darken the leather. This cream was recommended to me by the Red Wing saleswoman here in NYC. I have the charcoal R&T and they have not darkened at all.
      Answered on 5/18/2018 10:52:54 AM by Brian the Actor from NYC
    • Check out bees butter. It’s pretty rad. Only a tiny bit is needed. Though you shouldn’t have to condition iron rangers for a good while unless you do
      Something crazy in em.
      Answered on 6/23/2018 8:03:47 AM by JG from Ohio

About Red Wing Shoes

With a heritage dating back to 1905, Red Wing Shoes are legendary as an American success story. One Red Wing shoe style was standard GI-issue for WWI soldiers, and after emerging successfully from the Great Depression and the Second World War, the Red Wing brand name became synonymous with reliable, comfortable leather shoes and boots. Norman Rockwell, the artist famous for Americana artwork, even created a series of drawings for Red Wing Shoes. In the 1970s, Red Wing Shoes spread to Canada, Mexico, South America and Europe, offering its popular line of leather work boots and shoes. Red Wing has broadened its scope to offer everything from casual leather lace-up shoes and loafers to rugged work boots to thong sandals. Today, Red Wing runs three production facilities employing hundreds of expert craftsmen, but still makes each pair of oxfords, loafers, work boots and athletic shoes by hand.