Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Red Wing Shoes Red Wing Heritage Iron Ranger Cap-Toe Boots - Leather, Factory 2nds (For Men)

Item #6766V
$199.99 Save 37% Compare at $320.00
D Reset selected width
Loading
 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Red Wing Shoes Red Wing Heritage Iron Ranger Cap-Toe Boots - Leather, Factory 2nds (For Men)

Factory 2nds. For the hard-working iron miners who wore Red Wing Heritage's original Iron Ranger boot, the double layer of leather over the toe provided an extra measure of safety and durability. This update adds a pleasing aesthetic to the classic cap toe.

Specs

Specs about Red Wing Shoes Red Wing Heritage Iron Ranger Cap-Toe Boots - Leather, Factory 2nds (For Men)

  • Gusseted tongue
  • Upper: Leather
  • Outsole: Nitrile cork
  • Height: 6"
  • Heel height: 1-1/4"
  • Weight (pair): 3 lb. 10 oz.
  • Made in United States of America
  • Visit our Shoe Sizing Guide
  • US shipments only

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.740331 5 Overall Rating: 4.7 Based on 181 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Brand Comparison
Verified Buyer Reviewed by rogun from USA on Thursday, January 4, 2018
I've always worn Chippewas or Wolverine 1000 Mile's in the past, so this was my first pair of Red Wings. I wanted the Iron Ranger, because I needed some black boots and I wanted them with a cap toe. I'll mention that Wolverine 1000 Mile boots are very nice and the leather is actually thicker than ... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Red-Wing-Shoes-Red-Wing-Heritage-Iron-Ranger-Cap-Toe-Boots-Leather-Factory-2nds-For-Men Remove reviews search
  • Great boots
    Reviewed by Olvera6710 from Texas on Tuesday, August 7, 2018
    Even though these are factory seconds they are way better than my thorogoods. I couldn't really find anything wrong with then m them other them the cap was a little bit wrinkled but not noticeable. Will be buying another pair.
  • Seems like a decent boot
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jemma from Vermont on Tuesday, August 7, 2018
    I ordered these and a pair of Chippewas to try and compare. I wear a woman’s size 8.5 and ordered a size 7 men’s. The fit was fine and I didn’t notice any defects with the shoe, but ultimately sent this pair back and kept the Chips. The redwings were a little heavier and stiffer, and with no tread on the sole. Not necessarily a bad thing, just not quite what I was after.
  • Great boot but narrow.
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ck from Maryland on Sunday, July 15, 2018
    A well made pair of Redwings will last a lifetime. The reason these boots are factory seconds is something that I can't find. The only thing is that the boots are narrow.
  • Red wing 8111
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hank from Taiwan on Saturday, July 7, 2018
    Nice Boots~
  • Red Wing 8111
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Vanquish129 from Hayward, CA on Thursday, July 5, 2018
    Great value for money! I couldn’t any flaw on this pair.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “This question has been asked but remains unanswered: What model is black (14).
    STP color Black Harness (05): 8114.
    STP color Iron Black (11): 8080 (Black Chrome Leather)
    STP color Black (14): ******???????????????????????”
    Asked by Mr. Philadelphia from Philly on 4/5/2018 5:16:58 PM
    • Go to the Sierra Post web site. Search for this boot. Once there, scroll over the color pallet above the shoe sizes. With your cursor on the color it will define what color and number is associated with the selection that you are on. If this does not answer the question for you , then go to the official Red Wing site and do the same process as they might have more color options to select.
      Answered on 4/6/2018 9:22:07 AM by Colorado 14ner from Colorado
    • STP color code is already stated in the original question, and Red Wing USA offers only 2 varieties of black: Black Harness (8114) and Black Rough and Tough (8086). We're still in need of an answer on this one: STP color Black (14) = what Red Wing model number?
      Answered on 4/6/2018 12:34:12 PM by Mr. Philadelphia from Philly
  • “what is the product number with color "black"?”
    Asked by hu from beijing on 3/19/2018 9:49:44 PM
    • The black Iron Rangers are model: 8144.
      Answered on 3/20/2018 6:04:19 AM by Steve from D.C. from Washington D.C.
    • Sorry I don't know...suggest that you call Customer service.

      Answered on 3/20/2018 6:36:21 AM by steve from hendersonville
    • The Item number is 6766V(05) for Black Harness and 6766V(11) for Iron Black. Item # 6766V is the Shoe and (?) is the color.
      Answered on 3/20/2018 7:35:09 AM by Colorado 14ner from Colorado
    • that is 8080
      Answered on 4/2/2018 8:08:08 PM by FTXTA HDB from Portland
  • “For those with wider feet, is the D width wide enough for you”
    Asked by Nic from Georgia on 3/11/2018 12:03:03 PM
    • I have pretty flat wide feet. Some shoes are too tight in the bunion areas, but I got D width and they’re good. I wear size 7.5 in clarks desert boot and I got 7.5 in iron rangers too. My suggestion is to go to a red wing store and try some on to make sure you get the right size
      Answered on 3/11/2018 12:27:13 PM by Vincent from Indiana
    • My brannock sizing for width is in between 12.5D and 12.5E on the right, and between 12.5E and 12.5EE on the left since I have bunions on both feet. I have the 11.5D width boot and it fits just fine since they run big overall. I am on the lean side though so you may have to factor that in as well.
      Answered on 3/11/2018 1:31:04 PM by Steve from California
    • I would say that's probably a 50/50 proposition. My feet are "slightly" wide, and my Iron Rangers fit great, but if my feet were even just a tad wider - I would've been SOL. Your concern is perfectly justified. I suggest that you go to a Red Wing retail store first, get your feet measured there, then come back to Sierra Trading Post after your know for sure if the boots fit.
      Answered on 3/11/2018 1:38:24 PM by Steve from D.C. from Washington DC
    • Yes, although it's not a very wide boot.
      Answered on 3/11/2018 5:02:40 PM by rogun from USA
    • Based on my experience The last This is made on is fairly narrow. They do make an EE width in some of the Iron Ranger models.
      Answered on 3/11/2018 5:21:02 PM by JS from PA
    • Sorry can't help ...I don't have a wide foot...I measure C to D width and the boots fit great
      Answered on 3/12/2018 6:50:59 AM by steve from Nashville
    • I really can't answer that question as I have a medium width foot. I have always worn a 9.5 D in most shoes and these are true to size. Very comfortable and wear well.
      Answered on 3/12/2018 7:33:53 AM by Colorado 14ner from Colorado
    • yes, that is enough
      Answered on 4/2/2018 8:08:36 PM by FTXTA HDB from Portland
  • “What are some of the worst Factory seconds you've seen like a bad batch? I want to hear some horror stories. ”
    Asked by michael from Buffalo on 3/9/2018 10:35:37 AM
    • I Don't have any horror stories to relate. I ordered a pair o ffactory 2nd Red Wing Iron Ranger Cap Toe and am very pleased ..I am unable to determine why they are 2nds.

      Steve
      Answered on 3/9/2018 11:14:50 AM by steve from nashville
    • Sorry, can't help you with that! Mine arrived in perfect condition and I still cant find any defects. Very pleased with this purchase even though one should be cautious when purchasing a Factory 2nd product. Sierra Trading Post has never let me down in this regard as I have purchased several products that were advertised as such. Good Luck in your quest of finding a horror story for your upcoming novel of the Factory 2nds saga.
      Answered on 3/9/2018 3:43:09 PM by Colorado 14ner from Colorado
    • I've purchased many 2nd quality items and some of them I still haven't figured out what is wrong. Others it took me months to figure it out, but nothing that has bothered me at all. We are not given the specific reason that an item has been marked as 2nds. 2nds are usually due to minor cosmetic blemishes or irregularities which do not affect the fit, performance, or longevity of the item. Label is usually clipped or marked by the manufacturer. A small flaw means big savings.
      Answered on 3/9/2018 3:55:07 PM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post
    • Well, factory seconds are literally a hit or miss.

      I purchased 2 pairs of iron rangers.

      My first one, I couldn't figure out why they were seconds. Aside from some scratch marks....I would get from walking in those shoes in 1 week, it was as good as firsts. (Sadly I had to return this one..due to it being half size too small)

      My second one, which was the replacement of my first successful is not as good.

      It actually is a defective...

      vamp area of the shoe (top of the feet) is completely crushed due to mis-construction..and it has really bad wrinkles & folds into my feet whenever I walk.

      I think it will be fine once i fully break it in.....but it is not as good as the first one.
      Answered on 3/9/2018 6:01:40 PM by Tangle from TX
    • I don't know why mine were seconds and I've seen many say the same, although I have heard about a few bad experiences.
      Answered on 3/11/2018 5:08:46 PM by rogun from USA
    • It's Mike answering my own question so I asked a question before I received my factory second iron Rangers I ordered three pairs because that's how many they will let you have and I figured hey why not have as many as they'll let me have so I got the Oxblood copper rough and tough and Amber harness the Oxblood and Amber harness came with no flaws and I still have not decided why there Factory seconds and the Ruff and Tuff which is the easiest leather to mark up came with a few scuffs and a little tiny Nick of leather out of the toe cap it didn't go through even the first layer of leather on the toe cap and I rolled it in the place put a little oil on it and you can hardly even see it I'd say going Factory seconds the only way to go since you really can't tell that they are even defects.
      Answered on 3/26/2018 11:12:27 PM by michael from Buffalo
    • No, they are all good, I can not find any defects, they are perfect.
      Answered on 4/2/2018 8:09:58 PM by FTXTA HDB from Portland
  • “What is the difference between the Iron Black and Black Harness colors?”
    Asked by JDH from Minneapolis on 2/28/2018 7:40:05 AM
    • The Red Wing Shoe company refers to the color of their BLACK Iron Ranger Boots (model 8114) as "Black Harness". Basically, it's the same as the BROWN Iron Ranger - model 8111- (which Red Wing calls "Amber Harness").

      Calling a boot "black" or "brown" would be boring, and shows a lack imagination. :)
      Answered on 2/28/2018 8:00:50 AM by Steve from D.C. from Washington D.C.
    • Sorry, I Don't know the answer. I ordered the Brown.
      Answered on 2/28/2018 8:02:23 AM by steve from nashville
    • I really cant say for certain as I purchased mine in amber which is a brown. I think that the Iron Black has more of a gloss finish and the Black Harness is more of a dull finish. This is what I have been able to surmise from the pictures on line. I hope that this helps.
      Answered on 2/28/2018 9:59:06 AM by Colorado 14ner from Colorado
    • The Iron Black is more shiny. Black Harness uses tough harness leather, but I'm not sure about Iron Black.
      Answered on 2/28/2018 4:48:43 PM by rogun from USA
    • Iron Black tends to be a shiner version of Black Harness. I put together an album of most of the models that they offer here.

      https://imgur.com/a/lGijt
      Answered on 2/28/2018 5:15:28 PM by Luis from California
    • iron black is 8080, black harness is 8114.
      Answered on 3/20/2018 12:35:09 AM by hu from beijing
    • They are different product number, Iron Black is 8080
      Answered on 4/2/2018 8:11:01 PM by FTXTA HDB from Portland

About Red Wing Shoes

With a heritage dating back to 1905, Red Wing Shoes are legendary as an American success story. One Red Wing shoe style was standard GI-issue for WWI soldiers, and after emerging successfully from the Great Depression and the Second World War, the Red Wing brand name became synonymous with reliable, comfortable leather shoes and boots. Norman Rockwell, the artist famous for Americana artwork, even created a series of drawings for Red Wing Shoes. In the 1970s, Red Wing Shoes spread to Canada, Mexico, South America and Europe, offering its popular line of leather work boots and shoes. Red Wing has broadened its scope to offer everything from casual leather lace-up shoes and loafers to rugged work boots to thong sandals. Today, Red Wing runs three production facilities employing hundreds of expert craftsmen, but still makes each pair of oxfords, loafers, work boots and athletic shoes by hand.