Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$19.99 Save 48% Compare at $39.00
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Royal Robbins Billy Goat Shorts - UPF 50+ (For Women)

Closeouts. Royal Robbins' Billy Goat shorts show off the durability of Billy Goat canvas -- brushed for a comfortable hand, and dyed using a saturation process that ensures the color lasts through years of exposure to the elements.

Specs

Specs about Royal Robbins Billy Goat Shorts - UPF 50+ (For Women)

  • Short style: Cargo
  • UPF rating: 50+
  • Fabric: 98% cotton, 2% spandex
  • Care: Machine wash, tumble dry low heat
  • Made in Viet Nam
  • Visit our Pant Fit Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.785714 5 Overall Rating: 4.8 Based on 14 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Perfect Hiking and all-around Short
Verified Buyer Reviewed by Karolanne from Omaha, NE on Tuesday, March 27, 2018
I thought that these would just be a good hiking short, but the sturdiness of the fabric and perfect length (not too long and not too short for my 5' 1" frame) make it the perfect everyday short. The pockets are INCREDIBLE. they are deep and hold quite a bit without being bulky. I like the adjustab... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Royal-Robbins-Billy-Goat-Shorts-UPF-50-plus--For-Women Remove reviews search
  • Perfect for me
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Irene from DC on Thursday, May 31, 2018
    These are the canvas version of the nylon RR Backcounty Shorts. I am short and curvy. The length hits me at a good place to show my legs the best. The waist is adjustable with buttons. I can cinch the waist but then these shorts have the coverage needed for my hips. As others stated, I am in between sizes and chose the smaller size which was a good choice.
  • Great product
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Delia from Idaho on Wednesday, May 16, 2018
    These are great shorts. Huge pockets! The material is durable. These are ideal shorts for the outdoors.
  • very thick & heavy material
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by HorseLover from NM on Saturday, May 12, 2018
    The material is very thick and heavy, but soft. It's good that it has some stretch to it, otherwise they'd probably feel more bulky.
    I got a 6 and an 8 and there's hardly much of a difference in size between them. I prefer the 6 though. Like others said, these do run big. I'm more like a size 8 or 10 in other shorts. These have a big waist but the back lays down flat on the small of my back. No pointy gap of space in the waistband. I'm "thick" waisted, so they tend to sag down a little. They look very well made/sewn. Excellent price.
  • Fabulous Shorts for Everyday or Travel
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Laura from Arizona on Saturday, May 12, 2018
    These are the most amazing shorts. There are many pockets and they are deep. I can put my arms in the front pockets almost up to my elbows. Even though there are many pockets, they are incorporated inside the shorts so they don't look bulky like cargo shorts. There is one pocket that has a zipper and several of the pockets close with velcro to keep you things safe. Perfect for everyday, you can skip bringing a purse, or these would be good for travel. Very comfortable cotton with a touch of lycra. They are pretty thick, yet they stretch and appear to be very durable. These are so great, I purchased three more pair, two are in one size smaller as I'm losing weight. Fit is what I would say accurate size wise. There are also two tabs at the waist where you could adjust in an inch or two. Generous around the legs. Good length. These are my everyday shorts for the hot Arizona summers.
  • Run really big
    Reviewed by Keremok from Maine on Tuesday, May 1, 2018
    These are beautiful, great quality shorts, but they do run big. I have some Royal Robbins shorts and skirts in a 6 that I have to squeeze into (I'm 5'2", 128 lbs), but these size 6 shorts I was swimming in. I'm bummed they don't have them in a 4. Nice thick material, well made, but going back.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Is Slate a dusty dark blue or gray?”
    Asked by HorseLover from NM on 4/21/2018 4:06:44 PM
    • I would call it more federal blue. It's truly a slate color, meaning darker gray with an indigo undertone. The photos make the shorts look far more blue than they are, (at least my pair). I was disappointed at first, because I wanted a 'bluer' look, but they're still a great short.
      Answered on 4/22/2018 6:32:43 AM by Karolanne from Omaha, NE
    • Definitely blue. They will last you forever. Great pockets. They are cotton. Not sure how much they will shrink.
      Answered on 4/22/2018 6:43:17 AM by Lovelife from Maine
    • Slate is more of a blue.
      Answered on 4/23/2018 9:33:08 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post

About Royal Robbins

By the late-1960s, veteran Yosemite rock climber Royal Robbins and his wife Liz had grown tired of wearing cutoff jeans on the crag. At the time, apparel designed specifically for outdoor adventure was virtually non-existent. After years of wishing for something better, the couple finally decided to create their own, starting with a pair of climbing shorts called the “Billy Goat.” This was the beginning of Royal Robbins’ clothing revolution. Today, nearly 50 years later, Royal Robbins outdoor clothing is as rugged and reliable as ever. When you buy a Royal Robbins sweater or shirt, or a Royal Robbins pair of pants or shorts, you can bet it will fit great, whether you’re climbing in the Sierra Nevadas, camping in the backcountry or relaxing in your own backyard.