Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Royal Robbins First Fleet CarSweater Coat - Merino Wool (For Women)

Item #207WC
$39.99 Save 32% Compare at $59.00
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Royal Robbins First Fleet CarSweater Coat - Merino Wool (For Women)

Closeouts. A must-have in your sweater rotation, Royal Robbins' First Fleet sweater coat offers toasty warmth, itch-free softness and superior breathability in extra-fine merino wool. Its longer length makes it ideal as an outer layer on brisk autumn days, and the pretty pointelle stitch detail underscores its feminine charm.

Specs

Specs about Royal Robbins First Fleet CarSweater Coat - Merino Wool (For Women)

  • Closure: 7 Buttons
  • Fabric: 100% merino wool
  • Care: Hand wash, dry flat
  • Made in China
  • Visit our Wool Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.571428 5 Overall Rating: 4.6 Based on 7 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Great sweater for the slightly tall!
Verified Buyer Reviewed by ackkat from maritime northeast on Thursday, August 31, 2017
I am 5'7", size 12. Ordered a large for the length and to wear over at least a base layer, one turtleneck and jeans. The body measures about 30" from the center of the shoulder seam, and the sleeve is about 29" from neck seam to wrist. My guess is that someone up to 5'9" could wear this sweater the... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Royal-Robbins-First-Fleet-CarSweater-Coat-Merino-Wool-For-Women Remove reviews search
  • *****
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ann the hunter from Louisiana on Friday, December 15, 2017
    great sweater just what I need and use with jeans and long skirts
  • Warm and Soft!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Valley Girl from Shenandoah Valley on Friday, December 15, 2017
    I love this sweater, and got it in all colors available. I got the Large and X-Large because the extra length is perfect! No problem with either slacks or leggings, and it's warm and pretty! I usually wear a 12-14 in tops and sweaters because I like the look and comfort. Also good to be warm! This is not heavy or bulky, though, and could be worn under a coat as well! Will go most seasons!
  • Beautiful and Rare!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Valley Girl from Shenandoah Valley, Virginia on Tuesday, December 12, 2017
    Rare to find something of this quality at this price. No, I take that back. Everything I've gotten in sweaters from Royal Robbin's has been terrific, and I wouldn't dream of sending them back. I have gotten both Larges and one X-Large, and it makes no difference, they are beautiful! I don't do tight things! Well, again, I take that back, too! Sometimes! But these sweaters are warm, cozy and long enough to wear with leggings or to just make your jeans look dressed up! Perfect and high quality. I haven't yet washed these, again, another great thing about wool sweaters, a long time before maintenance, but I have washed RR wool in the past, and these will also be terrific. Unbelievable value for a gorgeous wool sweater at a low STP price. I love this longer length!
  • Nice for chilly days...
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gloria from Southern California on Friday, December 1, 2017
    Me again...just correcting an error in the previous post that I didn't notice before submitting my review.
    I meant to say that I think the sweater looks great!
  • Nice sweater, soft pretty color, but not quite as warm as I expected...
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gloria from Southern California on Friday, December 1, 2017
    I ordered this sweater in the grey and tan, and both colors are lovely & will go with just about anything in my closet. I like the flecks in the wool, the style with the airy panels on each side of the placket, and along the dropped shoulders. it fits well--not too loose and not too snug; the overall length is great, too. The sleeves are a bit too long for me, even when the cuff has been rolled back, so I just roll it twice and it isn't too bulky. I think it looks feminine without being fussy (it doesn't remind me of a grandfather sweater at all). This should also be fine for taller women as well as those who often find sleeves to be too short (I usually have the opposite problem). I think they look One thing that bothers me a bit is the collar--although I wear this sweater with a long sleeved top, if it is a tissue weight tee, the wool does irritate my skin just slightly even though it is merino wool which usually doesn't bother me at all. It is just an occasional prickly feeling here and there, not an overall itchiness. With a normal weight tee this is minimized considerably and I don't even notice it. I have lots of merino sweaters that cause no problem at all, even if I don't layer a top underneath. With this sweater, I have to fold down the necktie avoid direct contact between my skin and the wool unless I am wearing a turtleneck top (which I don't wear very often). This is just a minor annoyance for me, however. I thought this would be a thick, fairly heavy sweater, but it is actually quite light in weight and for me is really only warm enough for chilly days, or offices with the AC blasting year round. I do not find it sufficient for being out and about during what passes for really cold weather (I live in California) or even to stay warm and toasty indoors indoors when the heat is off. I don't really get enough use out of a coat to justify buying one, as it only gets worn two or three times a year, but sweaters are essential--I wear them often, so I am always looking for a new one to add to my wardrobe. I want a variety of styles for work as well as running errands or going out, so these sweaters will get plenty of wear. I like Royal Robbins and have quite a few tops made by them--I have been happy with my purchases and they hold up perfectly to everyday wear well and launder well. I've already worn each of these sweaters a few times and I haven't experienced any of the pilling which seems to ruin so many of my sweaters. These sweaters seem to be of similar quality to my other clothing in this brand and I'm sure I will have them for years and wear them frequently. I think they represent a very good value at the discounted price on STP as I have seen them elsewhere for considerably more money.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “What is the length of the body and the sleeves for a size Large? ”
    Asked by ackkat from maritime northeast on 8/10/2017 6:30:39 AM
    • length is 32" and the sleeve is 38" unrolled and 36" rolled up.
      Answered on 8/16/2017 10:55:44 AM by Product specialist Marv from Sierra Trading Post

About Royal Robbins

By the late-1960s, veteran Yosemite rock climber Royal Robbins and his wife Liz had grown tired of wearing cutoff jeans on the crag. At the time, apparel designed specifically for outdoor adventure was virtually non-existent. After years of wishing for something better, the couple finally decided to create their own, starting with a pair of climbing shorts called the “Billy Goat.” This was the beginning of Royal Robbins’ clothing revolution. Today, nearly 50 years later, Royal Robbins outdoor clothing is as rugged and reliable as ever. When you buy a Royal Robbins sweater or shirt, or a Royal Robbins pair of pants or shorts, you can bet it will fit great, whether you’re climbing in the Sierra Nevadas, camping in the backcountry or relaxing in your own backyard.