Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$19.99 Save 42% Compare at $34.99
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Ruffwear Roamer Dog Leash

Closeouts. Let your dog ramble and roam up to four feet beyond the leash end -- without pulling you away from your desired path -- using Ruffwear's elasticized Roamer dog leash.

Specs

Specs about Ruffwear Roamer Dog Leash

  • Material: 1 in. tubular nylon webbing
  • Weight: 9 oz.
  • Dimensions: 1" wide
  • Made in Viet Nam

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.400000 5 Overall Rating: 4.4 Based on 35 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Hands Free!
Verified Buyer Reviewed by ladyinmichigan from Michigan on Thursday, January 22, 2015
I purchased the 11 foot leash. I love having my hands free. Only downside is that the 11 feet also includes your waist, so as your waist gets larger the leash gets smaller. Ruffwear items are high quality.
Your search for "" returned reviews for Ruffwear-Roamer-Dog-Leash Remove reviews search
  • Good quality
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Car Girl from Colorado on Sunday, February 4, 2018
    Good for me and the 85-lb dog. Nice quality. Opted for medium length so he can't be too far from me.
  • Nice and long!
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ace from NEW YORK on Friday, February 2, 2018
    I love this leash. Its bright color is nice and also my medium size pitbull reacts well to the snap back feature of the bungy material. I give it four instead of five stars because it'd be nice if there was another loop in the middle to have the dog quickly at mid range instead of just having the traffic loop close to the neck. My dog is sort of short and I am tall so it's not very effective at getting her close to me quickly. Luckily she normally listens well so it will work just fine for me ^_^
  • Disappointing
    Reviewed by Birddog from Colorado on Wednesday, January 31, 2018
    I really want to love this leash but I don't. The hook on the end to put the leash around your waist for running is so stiff it is basically impossible to take on and off. I also wish it extended a bit longer. Was hoping to use it for skiing and I think it is slightly too short unless fully extended. It seems very durable like many other ruffwear products. Maybe it will get easier to use and loosen up...
  • Not as shown on website
    Reviewed by Dogwalker from Colorado on Tuesday, January 16, 2018
    This leash (as shown) is great - I have one already. However, what I was sent is the older version of the roamer leash, with the metal waist hook instead of the black plastic buckle clip. Staff were helpful and checked - the metal hook version is all they currently have. So the website photo is wrong.
  • Love hands free, large size a bit too long
    Reviewed by oktomat from Michigan on Wednesday, May 17, 2017
    After getting sick of having to hold my dog's leash plus my cell phone while jogging, I decided to give the hand's free leash a try. Honestly, I love it and wish I had gone hands free sooner! That being said, for me the large leash is too long, hence 4 starts instead of 5 (it was the only size in stock at STP). It hasn't been too much of an issue when my dog is jogging nicely by my side, but when she sees a dog she wants to run to the leash extends too long and it becomes hard to pull her away. I'm sure the small leash is much better for those situations. Despite that, it's a pretty good leash and I enjoy using it.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Is the leash and the collar connected?”
    Asked by Jessie from Wyoming on 12/31/2014 9:16:47 AM
    • What looks like a collar is actually the handgrip. That handgrip loop is adjustable and expandable so you can wear it around your waist instead of holding it in your hand. There is no collar. I do love Ruffwear collars, though. All the Ruffwear dog gear is tops in my book.
      Answered on 12/31/2014 9:36:16 AM by Choufleur from New England
    • Yes, and it has many uses. The large leash collar is a bit padded and smallest measure is approximately 15". It's an excellent product and price; buy it.
      Answered on 12/31/2014 5:14:56 PM by Juniper from Wisconsin
    • The collar is part of the leash. It just doubles back and clips if you need it to. I don't need it that often but its good to have in case a collar breaks or you take it off and forget to put it back on at bath time...which I've done.
      Answered on 1/1/2015 9:29:33 PM by Bugs from Alaska
    • They are not. The loop you see is adjustable. As shown, the loop you see is the human end of the leash and can be adjusted as shown for one to hold it in one's hand, or expanded for one's waist, or to hook your dog to a tree or other object if needed. The latch end hooks into the collar like other leashes.
      Answered on 1/6/2015 9:04:45 AM by skiernikk from Montana
  • “What is the length of this leash unstretched?”
    Asked by Goodyskis from PA on 12/9/2014 1:13:31 PM
    • The leash is about 4 and a half feet when it is not extended.
      Answered on 12/9/2014 1:29:43 PM by Bugs from Alaska
    • The leash comes in two sizes; there is small which is 7' long and large which is 11' long
      Answered on 12/10/2014 2:11:01 AM by Outaboutred from Portsmouth NH
  • “Do these have the newer metal clip at the handle, from other reviews it sound like the plastic breaks”
    Asked by Michigan from Michigan on 4/11/2014 8:53:31 PM
    • yes just received them these have the less durable plastic clip
      Answered on 4/16/2014 7:07:07 PM by Michigan from MI
    • these have the plastic clip on the handle not metal, just received them
      Answered on 4/16/2014 7:12:07 PM by Michigan from mi

About Ruffwear

Products from Ruffwear are built with the idea that it’s never a good day to leave your four-legged friend at home. Whether your particular adventure requires a Ruffwear harness, a cozy Ruffwear dog coat or another accessory, you’ll know that you’ve increased the level of safety and comfort for your pet in the great outdoors. Everything this company makes, from a simple Ruffwear dog collar to a dog life jacket to dog boots, is thoroughly tested to ensure a functional, comfortable fit for your pooch and a great-looking design. As dog lovers themselves, the people behind Ruffwear pet products have a true passion for helping customers and their four-legged companions enjoy spending time out in Mother Nature.