Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.

Sage Bolt Fly Rod with Tube - 4-Piece, 9’

Item #307FD
$329.99 Save 49% Compare at $650.00
See Photo (99) Reset selected color
9FT Reset selected length
Loading
 
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Sage Bolt Fly Rod with Tube - 4-Piece, 9’

Closeouts. An ultra-fast-action speedster for both freshwater and saltwater adventures, Sage's Bolt fly rod is a strong, USA-made wind cutter for accurately presenting heavier flies and streamers. The lightweight Generation 5 technology graphite blank features a narrow shaft and light, lively response for optimal control of rod loading.

Specs

Specs about Sage Bolt Fly Rod with Tube - 4-Piece, 9’

  • 6wt, 7wt and 8wt rods have a fighting butt
  • Number of pieces: 4
  • Flex action: Tip/Fast
  • Grip: Full wells
  • Type of grip: One handed
  • Type of cork: Premium cork
  • Reel seat: Up locking
  • Reel seat material: Anodized aluminum
  • Spacer material: Rosewood 4wt and 5wt, anodized aluminum 6wt, 7wt and 8wt
  • Rod material: Graphite
  • Guide material: Fuji ceramic guides, hard chromed snake guides
  • Rod case: Yes
  • Rod case material: PVC with nylon fabric cover
  • Recommended use: Saltwater,Freshwater
  • Made in United States of America , China Rod Case
  • Visit our Fly Fishing Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.833333 5 Overall Rating: 4.8 Based on 6 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

What can I Say... It is a Sage.
Verified Buyer Reviewed by Baronvonhaus from PA on Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Great rod....
Your search for "" returned reviews for Sage-Bolt-Fly-Rod-with-Tube-4-Piece-9 Remove reviews search
  • Mint
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Roger from Colorado on Sunday, September 2, 2018
    Great rod ! Anyone should own one ! I tried it yesterday at FryingPan ,CO and is amazing !
  • As expected
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Whip the lip ripper from North Carolina on Wednesday, July 25, 2018
    Always expect great from Sage and I wasn’t disappointed. Color stands out and the finish is outstanding. One knock is that it did not have dots to line up the inserts. Mine does now. Just some white UV nail polish the ladies won’t miss a UV light and small dots that are perfectly lined up and hard as nails.

    Rod is fast and well suited for a double haul with streamer flys. I expect this to perform well in Alaska where it will be tested soon on Coho Salmon. I have only taken this to the back yard so far but a 70 foot cast is pretty easy for this rod.
  • I love the Bolt
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by MJ from New Mexico and Michigan on Thursday, June 28, 2018
    The Sage Bolt is a very fast rod. It's great for wind or big flies. I have three of them.
  • Sage 4, 5, and 7 weight
    Reviewed by K. Yo from DFW on Wednesday, June 6, 2018
    I purchased the 7 weight first and fell in love. This rod is a fast action rod that is very light and accurate. Can easily cast all the line on the reel. I am using rio bonefish.
    The 4 and 5 are also perfect if you like a fast action rod.
    I was using orvis recon prior to purchasing all the safe bolts but after using the bolt, I fell in love.
    The bolt is not for someone looking for a slow rod but the rod will deliver your fly with precision and quickly
  • Sage bolt
    Reviewed by Mighty Ox from Colorado on Monday, May 14, 2018
    I took it out yesterday and tested the cast accuracy, it performs well. Its got the back bone to toss a big woolly burgers, also it has the power to punch against the wind to deliver a bug to the fishes. Overall, it's the big bang for the buck. However, I just give it 4 stars because with all that good stuff, sage bolt doesn't have align dots on the joints section.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “Read some reviews that said this rod is heavier than expected. I’m a petite woman (5’4” 130#) just getting into fly fishing. Anyone have an opinion as to whether this will be too heavy for me? Looking at the 5wt rod.”
    Asked by FlyNewb from Tacoma WA on 9/18/2018 7:50:50 PM
    • I do not think the rod is usually heavy but it is vert fast. If you like a fast rod I would go for it.
      Answered on 9/18/2018 8:08:40 PM by MJ from NM-MI
    • I just purchased a 5wt rod about a week ago and have not fishing with it yet. I do have the 7wt rod, it's excellent. That's why I bought the 5wt. However, it's came in and just like I expect it, much lighter than the 7wt. Ultra fast action will be great for petit lady and a new fishermen like yourself. It's will help the beginner to cast and set the hook easier.
      Answered on 9/19/2018 1:13:35 AM by Mighty Ox from Colorado
  • “Warranty card with this product included?”
    Asked by lzrblade from Texas on 7/20/2018 11:31:06 AM
    • Yes, the ones I looked at do include a warranty card.
      Answered on 7/20/2018 3:41:00 PM by Product Specialist from Sierra Trading Post

About Sage

When it comes to fly fishing gear, you might say the specialists at Sage are the angling gurus. Every piece of fishing gear Sage produces is carefully designed, hand built and thoroughly tested to ensure the best fishing experience possible. At Sage, they call this "maximum fishability" - the kind of performance and reliability experienced anglers have come to expect from their fishing gear. So whether you're looking to augment your precision casting technique or just learn the basics, consider picking up some of Sage's meticulously crafted rods, reels, accessories and apparel. It's sure to make your next trip a more enjoyable one... and at Sierra Trading Post, you'll always get great discounts on all Sage fly fishing rods, lines, reels and accessories.