Customer Reviews Of:
Scarpa Kailash Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. It's no surprise Scarpa's Kailash Gore-Tex® hiking boots are a Backpacker magazine "Editors' Choice" award-winner. Testy weather, mud-infested trails and rocky terrain are no match for the durable suede upper, Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable membrane and Vibram® Hi-Trail Lite rubber outsole.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews 4.062500 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tawni from CALIFORNIA on Friday, February 16, 2018
    Great boot. Nice stiff sole aggressive tread. A little heavy but not bad.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GregD. from Kentucky on Wednesday, February 7, 2018
    Right out of the box these are the best feeling hiking boots I've worn (and I've gone thru a bunch of them). The construction of these boots is such that they gently hug the contours of your feet without binding or undue compression. Well made with quality materials. I really love the way the midsole provides just enough cushion to be comfortable without being too squishy. The Vibram sole has a sticky kind of feel that provides great traction even on wet rocks. Carrying my camera backpack (@ 30 pounds when fully loaded) is no problemo on uneven terrain with these boots. I get this feeling of being "sure-footed" which is a big deal when the trail gets sketchy. The Scarpa Kailish is most def a 5 star product!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Moose Dog from California on Sunday, August 9, 2015
    First pair was so good bought a back up pair

    walk dogs for a living - great support, fit and comfort
  • Reviewed by Connecticut Panda from Connecticut on Friday, July 24, 2015
    I have been wearing Scarpa boots for 20 years and I do not know what happened-I wear a size 12 but size 11 Scarpas always fit and I ordered these in 11 2/3 and they were super narrow and tight.

    Still top notch quality and if you have narrow feet go for it otherwise go with Asolo.

    Sad wanted to keep but these are going back.

    By the way put them next to my 15 year old Scapas and the treads are the same-the soles never wear out!

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by peak1 from nj on Monday, May 11, 2015
    best hiking boot I've ever had....light and form fitting....great trail boot

    note to scarpa....bring back the escape mountaineering boot!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by p from Casper, Wy on Friday, May 8, 2015
    Scarpa boots are the best!! I am really rough on my shoes and Scarpa's last. I put on hundreds of miles a year hiking, hunting, and trapping. In every kind of terrain, rocky cliffs, snow, mud, mountains, prairie, you name I am in it. If you have a narrower foot like me these are perfect with a quality insole. Great fit and very comfortable, could not have made a better purchase at a great price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Schattenjager from Southern Ohio on Wednesday, May 6, 2015
    Rugged with great traction for muddy slopes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by blueryder from ADKs NY on Monday, April 6, 2015
    Good initial fit. Up-sizing 1/2 size was a good idea. ignore the other reviewer who asked "in what world a 43.5 is a size 10.5M (US)?" If you do a quick search some size-comp chart say 10.5 = 43/44 (43.5) some say it = 9, 9.5, or 10...all over the board. bottom line? buy 'em, try 'em. that is the russian roulette of buying shoes online.

    I haven't had a chance to beat them up much, but spring is here in the ADKs so, we'll see! i'll post an update in 30 days
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Off-Trailer from CA on Monday, March 16, 2015
    My first pair of the Kailash boot are on their last leg, so I decided to order two more pairs. I first fell in love with this boot due to the fit, though that's a personal preference and I hate it when people knock a boot due to fit...or due to having a poor qualify insole (they all have poor quality insoles). The mid-weight classification is appropriate...I feel it is a true trekking-style boot, plenty nimble and just enough flex for hopping around. As for fit, I take a 101/2 in most boots and this was the equivalent to a 44.5 for me in this model. They are slightly narrow I'd say, but most with a medium foot should be fine, though it might not hurt to go up 1/2 size either. Also, a tip since they don't come in wide...my friend who is on the medium- to medium-wide size stretched his Kailashs in the toe box and indicated they are easy to perform a custom stretch on...simply modified a wooden shoe tree/form with a little Bondo, creating a lump to widen/stretch the width at the toes and simply crammed it into the shoe; the suede stretches easily. Another plus is that they breathe better than mot GTX-lined boots. Finally, my 3-year-old pair remain 100% waterproof...the GTX in most of my other GTX-lined boots were compromised in a year, or two at most, so I am quite pleased the membrane has held up for so long on these! The only negative...after three seasons have off-trail use in rocky areas, the horizontal seem has started to give way due to the threads getting abraded off...though anytime there is stitching/seams on the sides, that will be a potential weak-spot...but mine held up for plenty of time and consider the Kailash a real bargain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AquaTodd from Ft Lauderdale, FL on Sunday, February 8, 2015
    This is my second pair of boots from Scarpa and once again I'm pleased with the product. The fit is right on they feel broken-in right out of the box. so far I've only put in a couple miles around the neighborhood but but look to put in 12-20 in Colorado in a couple weeks depending on weather.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2