Free Shipping on Orders $89+ With Code: SHIP89. See Details.
$29.99 Save 59% Compare at $74.95
We apologize for the inconvenience! This product is currently sold out!
This feature is only available for colors and sizes not currently in-stock

Overview

About Scientific Anglers Mastery BFT Fly Line

Closeouts. Specially engineered for casting large patterns, Scientific Anglers' Mastery BFT fly line has a short-belly, big fly taper that works especially well when hucking monster flies in windy conditions at hungry pike and bass.

Specs

Specs about Scientific Anglers Mastery BFT Fly Line

  • Type: Weight forward
  • Loop connections: Yes
  • Coating: AST
  • Material: Polyurethane
  • Length: 100'
  • Recommended use: Freshwater
  • Made in United States of America
  • Visit our Fly Fishing Guide

Reviews

Do you own this product? Write a review and help others with their buying decisions!

4.888888 5 Overall Rating: 4.9 Based on 9 reviews

Most Helpful 5-Star Review

Great for Pike Flies
Reviewed by Reets from Bozeman on Tuesday, April 24, 2018
I bought this line in an 8wt to use for casting big pike flies. Right after I got it, I fished with it on a lake from a boat for pike and was very pleased with the distance I could cast, even with some wind, and how well it turned over the big, heavy air resistant pike flies. It was plenty accurate,... Read More
Your search for "" returned reviews for Scientific-Anglers-Mastery-BFT-Fly-Line Remove reviews search
  • Great Line
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zeke from Montana on Wednesday, May 30, 2018
    Recently bought 2 of these lines for pike and peacock bass fishing. Had one rigged and out for pike within a few days of receiving it and it did not disappoint. Was easily throwing 5-6" flies as well as big poppers 70+ feet without any problems. Line loads the rod easily making multiple false casts unnecessary. Faster rods will get greater distance.
  • BFT
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike from North Carolina on Sunday, May 6, 2018
    Does what it’s supposed to do. It throws big flys!
  • Great for Pike Flies
    Reviewed by Reets from Bozeman on Tuesday, April 24, 2018
    I bought this line in an 8wt to use for casting big pike flies. Right after I got it, I fished with it on a lake from a boat for pike and was very pleased with the distance I could cast, even with some wind, and how well it turned over the big, heavy air resistant pike flies. It was plenty accurate, but didn't seem quite as accurate as my 8wt intermediate Rio line, though I'm more used to the Rio line and I fished it with a different rod than the SA line. I probably wasn't casting as well when I used the SA line either, since I used it first and was still sort of warming up. No noticeable difference in the distance I was able to get between the SA and Rio lines. The SA line is much quieter to strip in than the Rio line, but it didn't seem to make any difference to the pike! I never had issues with the SA line that I had stripped in tangling itself up at my feet when I went to cast again, which my Rio line has issues with. The Rio line had sat on a reel for a few months though, whereas the SA line was nearly new. I was very happy with this line's performance overall and would definitely recommend it for casting large flies.
  • Needed a loop
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by Catfish from Mississippi on Thursday, April 5, 2018
    I just figured it had a loop on the Bug Tper end.
  • Scientific Anglers Quality
    Verified Buyer Reviewed by JB Pipes from TENN on Thursday, April 5, 2018
    This fly line casts like a dream. Big flies? Strong wind? No problem. Loads quickly, shoots like a rocket.

Question & Answer

Questions about this product? Get answers from community and staff experts.

  • “How will this line do on a 5wt right rod?”
    Asked by Tahoe Fish from Truckee on 1/29/2018 8:19:48 PM
    • 5wt on fast rod will worok good, but on sierra is lower weight 7 - to heavy for 5aftma rods
      Answered on 4/16/2018 4:32:12 AM by Pawel from Warsaw
  • “What is the color(s)?”
    Asked by Summer Hiker from Santa Fe, NM on 1/26/2018 8:36:34 AM
    • This is a white-ish color.
      Answered on 2/1/2018 11:31:08 AM by Product Specialist Greg from Sierra Trading Post

About Scientific Anglers

Scientific Anglers was founded in 1945 by friends and fellow fishermen who introduced the first modern plastic-coated tapered fly line to the market, a revolutionary design in the fly-fishing industry. Scientific Anglers fly lines continued to break new ground with the introduction of the first contemporary floating and sinking fly lines, and Scientific Anglers fly rods cemented the brand’s focus on developing leading-edge technologies that set the industry standard. Scientific Anglers’ commitment to designing and producing the best possible equipment has defined the sport’s history and continues to shape its future, allowing beginning and expert anglers alike to make the most of every cast.