Customer Reviews Of:
SmartWool PhD V2 Outdoor Medium Socks - Merino Wool, Crew (For Men and Women)

2nds. A lesson in how a sock should always feel and perform, SmartWool's PhD V2 Outdoor medium crew socks feature a 4-Degree Fit System to keep the sock in place and WOW technology to increase durability in high-wear areas.

Average Rating based on 40 reviews 4.375000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Deb from Stillwater, OK on Monday, October 24, 2016
    I have been purchasing Smartwool socks for several decades, on and of and have strictly returned to them. Not only is the comfort level good, but the fit is as well. Granted, directions say that you can dry them in the dryer, but I personally advise against that for both longevity, as well as correct fit. I have had some of these socks for five years, not necessarily the same brand of Smartwool sock, but I have learned through the years what the recipe will handle and what benefits it the best. I should also note that I wear these socks a LOT, and five years wear out of one pair is from upper echelon sock as well as proper care, so if you wish to retain them like I do, just do the same thing. Just dry them over the shower curtain bar.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Johnny the Hiker from Wyoming on Monday, July 11, 2016
    Only buy SW PhD.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Linda hiker & skier from Colorado on Tuesday, October 13, 2015
    great design. Lots of support. Fit great
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by D the human from Earth on Saturday, September 26, 2015
    Buy them your feet will thank you
  • Reviewed by Wheeler Canyon Ted from Ventura CA on Saturday, May 2, 2015
    I originally gave these a five star review, but have lower it because the brown do run small. I ordered both the dark charcoal and brown, and the charcoal were perfect but the brown were too small. I wear a 11 1/2 shoe and had ordered ex-large but they felt more like a large, or even a medium. I contacted STP and their excellent customer service sent me two replacements at no charge as I thought they were just marked wrong. However, when I got the replacements I found that they were just as small as the first pair. This is a great sock if it were the right size, but beware the brown must be mismarked and run small. If you wear a large or medium, the ex-large might fit you.
  • Reviewed by me. from utah on Monday, April 27, 2015
    I just bought 4 pairs of these for my husband. His shoe size is 12. So I chose the XL size. The socks were WAY too small. I did not want to pay to return them. So, I am wearing them . . . and I am an Lades shoe size 8! I don't see anyone else complaining about small sizing and I don't understand why not. And STP now has "irregular" in big letters on the arch of the sock, which they did not have in the past. We have bought lots of these socks from STP in the past, so although we gave the previous Smart Wool PHD socks five stars, I give this socks two stars to warn others of these issues, because it really is a pain to have to return online-bought items.
  • Reviewed by Wheeler Canyon Ted from Ventura CA on Wednesday, April 8, 2015
    I just completed over 765 miles on a trek and these were the best socks that I used. I started out with Smartwool Medium Weight Hiking socks, and then went through several other style Smartwool toes socks (also as liners), and other brands, but ended up with some blisters on my toes. I finally switched to the Phd Outdoor Medium Crew and they were the best. They hold their stretch and support even after five to six days with the same dirty pair, as I didn't get a chance to change or wash them on the trek. The regular Smartwool Hiking socks would stretch out and get baggy after a few days and that would cause my feet to move around a little within my shoes. I air dried them at night and they did not pick up much of an odor. I also found that if you wash them inside out they are much less likely to pill. I wear a size 11-11 1/2 shoes, but usually get the extra large as sometimes they do tend to shrink just a bit. I still have different type of Smartwool socks and love them all, but for my hiking and outdoor activities, these are great, and the best. However, like with shoes, everyone's feet are different, so you have to take sock reviews with a grain of salt.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andrew H from California on Wednesday, March 25, 2015
    This sock both breathes well in warm conditions, and insulates beautifully in cold wet conditions. Also does a great job of preventing chafing, wet or dry. So glad I got a pair of them for backpacking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Leverkit from Colorado on Wednesday, March 18, 2015
    I bought four pairs and two had holes upon arrival. I understand they are 2nd's, but holes are something else. The two that are intact are fine.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bullwinkle J Moose from Michigan on Tuesday, March 17, 2015
    I am a huge fan of Smart -Wool socks and have at least 10 prs now. Usually I wear a size large sock. I ordered these in both large and extra-large and they were both way too small to wear comfortably. I was going to return them, but my son is able to wear them. They were on sale for a great price and I didn't want Sierra Trading Post to have to deal with the return if I could make use of them.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4