Customer Reviews Of:
SmartWool PhD Ultralight Graduated Compression Socks - Merino Wool (For Men and Women)

2nds. Wicking, temperature regulating and designed to reduce the fatigue and speed the recovery of legs, SmartWool's PhD ultralight socks have a graduated compression design and non-cushioned sole to reduce bulk.

Average Rating based on 119 reviews 4.285714 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 ... 12
  • Reviewed by JP outdoors lover from NH on Thursday, October 10, 2013
    These are a bit hard to put on, but not THAT hard. You do have to put the foot part on first, then bring the rest up your leg, like a "real" compression sock, not just a tight hiking sock. I do like the feel of the compression while I'm standing at work. I'm not sure I would wear these hiking though because they do come all the way up to my knees and I don't usually wear such a high sock for hiking. I think they would be nice for skiing though. These ultralights don't seem to be too warm so far, considering their height. Have only worn them several times so I can't say yet how they will hold up over time.
  • Reviewed by Swimmer from colorado on Thursday, October 10, 2013
    I'm a doctor who works 12-36 hr shifts on my feet. Started wearing these 2 months ago to reduce ankle swelling and leg fatigue. I wear a men's 10.5 shoe and bought the size XL socks, which are a tiny bit large in the foot but good for my 17" calves. Sizing was uniform across 3 styles (ultralight, light and regular). No obvious flaws in these 2nds (the socks themselves are marked IRREGULAR, in case you're planning to give them as gifts). They are prescription-strength 20-30 mm Hg compression socks, so as others have said, you cannot pull them on like regular socks! I have not needed a special sock-donner device; just take your time and work them on gradually.
  • Reviewed by Happy Feet from SW Ohio on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
    They fit well and are comfortable, but not irritating like some others I have had in the past.
    I wore them the whole day after they arrived, but had a time getting one of them off at the
    end of the day. Not hot in warmer weather (70-ish degrees)
  • Reviewed by Nice 'n Warm from OK on Monday, August 12, 2013
    These are my favorite compression socks for all seasons. The toe vent and light weight wool makes them cooler than my cotton ones in the summer and, of coarse, more cozy when it is cooler. The compression is 20-30 just as labeled. I was a bit dubious when I saw the weight, but they do the job. From STP the price is great.
  • Reviewed by OCULUS from Rensselaer, NY on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    I didn't buy these for their "compression" feature, rather their minimal padding in the sole that permits wear with fitted street shoes (as opposed to bulky boots or sneakers). They are typical SmartWool quality and the "seconds" blems are imperceptible to me.
  • Reviewed by ARG46 from Arizona on Wednesday, May 1, 2013
    Fit and finish is good. Does provide just the right amount of compression so you feel "stronger" and your calfs don't get as "tired".

    However, they do get holes at the "seams" near your ankle quickly. Looks like the weave pulls apart slightly. Still wearable.
  • Reviewed by JLO skier from San Francisco on Friday, April 19, 2013
    I'm a nurse, which means long hours on my feet. These are the only socks I now wear. I initially purchased 2 pair but loved them so much I bought 4 more. They greatly reduce leg fatigue and swelling. Highly recommend!
  • Reviewed by Jean from Utah on Thursday, April 18, 2013
    Following a recent knee replacement I was experiencing swelling at the ankle. These socks worked perfectly to assist in circulation and keep swelling down without covering the incision, which is still healing. In fact, they worked so well I bought a second pair. I intend to use the socks in the future on the long hikes I'll be taking once I'm fully recovered.
  • Reviewed by OkiefromOAK from California on Saturday, March 30, 2013
    Great quality socks. Comfortable except for very tight in the toes. The tightness everywhere else was good though
  • Reviewed by MCNPT from Toledo on Saturday, March 30, 2013
    I bought these for traveling and those days I sit in a course all day, and have worn them for that purpose. They were comfortable and provide appropriate compression for varicose veins.

    Melanie
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 ... 12