Customer Reviews Of:
Smith Sport Optics Riverside Sunglasses - Polarized Glass Lenses

Closeouts. You don't have to be waterside to appreciate the low-profile style and optical precision of Smith Optics' Riverside sunglasses. Techlite polarized glass lenses are lightweight and scratch resistant, offering perfect vision on land, water and all points in between.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews 4.166666 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sean K from Indiana on Sunday, June 1, 2014
    These glasses have great glass lenses with excellent optical accuracy. Polarization is top-notch as well (an easy way to test is to use a computer monitor/TV screen and tilt the glasses. Note how much the image darkens and the angle range). Colors a great as well.

    Now, the negatives. The glasses are heavy. Probably, not so much due to the lenses being glasses, but the heft of the frame.

    The frame also doesn't seem durable. The temple and the end-piece seem to be glued to the hinge. The glasses make creaking sound all the time.
  • Reviewed by Anonymous from Houston, TX on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    Fit is a tricky thing, and I get that. Faces come in all shapes so complaining about how something fit is often irrelevant. That said, I have noticed that these glasses slide down my face quite often because the glass lenses are heavy. I really want to like them because they are well made and the lenses do not scratch as easily. At the end of the day, I like sunglasses that let me forget that I'm wearing one, and these are not them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by telern from Front Range, [...] on Monday, April 14, 2014
    I love these glasses so much I bought two pairs. They're perfect for fly fishing, backcountry skiing or whatever outdoor pursuit you fancy. They fit my large melon quite nicely (61cm head- sorry I don't have calipers for width). They're durable, having survived several fall from my head to concrete falls without spidering in the lenses. And they look good. I don't care for the Aviator look (my USAF days are over) or the giant pancake lense/huge wide frame look that seems prevalent today. There's a pretty big hard sided case that comes with the glasses, which is a bit overkill but nice thought.
  • Reviewed by truck driver from California on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    Happy with our purchase of the Riverside polarized sunglasses.
  • Reviewed by TriNate from Richmond, VA on Saturday, January 25, 2014
    No complaints. Good, polarized shades.
  • Reviewed by FlyFisher1 from Bend, OR on Friday, January 10, 2014
    I have used Smith sunglasses for fly fishing and general wear for years. In need of a new pair, I tried the Riverside. Some reviews seemed to indicate they were not an overly large fit, but they are. Sturdy frames and typically excellent Smith lenses. They will be going back due to wide fit. The STP Specifications on fit (Large) should take priority over customer reviews on this one...
  • Reviewed by GHP from Huntington Beach on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    Polarized glass with spring hinges. Pricey, but very good value. Great for medium to wider faces.
  • Reviewed by MuchaKoda from Colorado Mtns. on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    I got these as a xmas gift, to replace another pair of Smith sunglasses I've had for about a year. The side hinges on my old Smith's kept getting too loose, the screws would fall out, and I was tired of tightening the screws all the time. They were starting to strip out, it was frustrating, and also annoying when the arms are all floppy. I've had 3-4 pairs of Smith's over the years and I must of just got a dud pair last time. These new Riverside glasses are very comfortable, they have the nose and ear pads, and the lenses are glass and have very crisp vision. I got the tortoise pair and I like the lens & frame color. Although they are just slightly wide for my face, but not so much that they fall off, so I'm keeping them. Hopefully the hinges on these won't start doing the same thing as my old ones, lol.
  • Reviewed by Frequent STP buyer from Colorado on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    I hesitated as people said they were wide. I measured other glasses I have and decided to give them a try. I love the lite weight and decided to keep them. Smith is a top name in ski googles so wanted to try their sunglasses. My son loved them and wanted them but I am keeping them for myself.
  • Reviewed by Rick the Outdoorsman from South Caroilna on Friday, December 6, 2013
    I have worn Smith sunglasses for almost 20 years. They never disappoint.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2