• SteriPEN Reviews

SteriPEN
SteriPEN 4.121951 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 16 ... 21
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bryan G from Ga. on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
    Something I've wanted in my pack for a while, just couldn't justify the retail price.Thanks to STP for making this such a good buy.
    Not only would I, but actually did recommend this to several friends.
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, Emergencies, Outdoors
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Light Weight, No chemicals
  • Reviewed by Busted Yuppie from Pacific Northwest, U.S.A. on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    This Steri-Pen works great! I used it in numerous hikes this summer in the mountains instead of my filter. In fact, I left my filter at home after a break-in period to "proof" the Steri-Pen and make sure it worked. I used this device all over the Olympic Mountains in Washington State, which has numerous streams and lakes that have giardia. I never got sick, so it must work.

    One nice thing is, you can actually taste the water as it comes out of the lake or stream, over what you taste from a filter, which is sort of "sterile." (I actually began to compare water from one stream to another!)

    A couple drawbacks: This Steripen does NOT filter out dirt, silt or other things from the water. If you are worried about that, you can sift the crud through a bandanna or do as I do, don't tilt the bottle back too bodaciously and when you are near the bottom of the water bottle, dump out the crud. Be advised that you have to clear off the surface of water from bugs, needles, crud, etc. and collect from the surface so you don't go too deep into the stuff in the "flow". Another issue is, you MUST use a large-mouth water bottle to ensure that you are stirring all of the water while the light is on. I now use a Nalgene "Canteen" which has a large mouth but is very light (2.0 oz.) compared to those inordinately heavy Nalgene water bottles (6.8 oz.!!!).
    Also, be advised that when you collect water, you have to wipe off the lip of the water bottle you used to collect the water if that's what you are drinking out of. Otherwise, you may have a couple drops that remain untreated on the lip of the bottle. I do that religiously every time I collect water to sterilize with the SteriPen, and as stated, I have not gotten sick yet.

    I LOVE the lightweight of this device compared to the Sweetwater filter I was carrying while hiking. No comparison when it comes to lightening up the pack.

    I installed Lithium batteries for longer life and so far, so good. At the STP price, and especially if you have a coupon, it's well worth the price!
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, HikingBackpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy On/Off, Lightweight, Works as planned
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the woman who runs from Durango, CO on Sunday, September 25, 2011
    My first steripen failed on its second backpacking trip. New batteries did not revive it so I returned it for a replacement. The second one is working so far, but my confidence is shaken and I now am carrying water treatment tablets in addition to the steripen "just in case". Other than the reliability issue, it is much less fuss, smaller, lighter and quicker than a water filter. I find the ON switch difficult to engage. It is squishy and sometimes I have to press it multiple times to get the pen to turn on.
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, Outdoors
    • Cons: Unreliable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Doc Longhorn from Monument, CO on Thursday, September 15, 2011
    Used it for archery season and it was awesome. We would have been stuck in rather nasty conditions without enough water. This thing allowed us to pack lighter (bring less water initially) and refill throughout the day. Just a tip: use two bottles, a "clean" and a "dirty" nalgene. The "dirty" bottle is used to get the water at the source and once it's sanitized with the Steripen, pour the water into the "clean" bottle. We primarily used it for stream water and nobody got sick. I bought a second one for my hunting buddy!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping/Hunting
    • Cons: none
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Small and compact
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob from Elk City, OK on Tuesday, September 13, 2011
    Although I havn't had treated water tested with this particular SteriPEN I know from experience how effective UV is in treating nasties in water. Just follow directions. I'd like to see longer battery life, but heh, the product works great. Excellent price!
    • Best Uses: Emergencies, Overseas Travel, Power Outages
    • Cons: Short Battery Life
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy On/Off, Works Fast
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Traveler from Washington, DC on Monday, September 12, 2011
    I bought the SteriPEN because I was headed for Istanbul, where, we were told, it's best to drink bottled water. We used it to purify the local water for toothbrushing and such, although we also found that the water there is just fine. When traveling to areas outside the US (like Mexico) where bottled water is a necessity, the SteriPEN would be wonderful.
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, International Travel, Outdoors
    • Pros: Adds to travel safety, Small and light
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The old goat from Whitefish, Montana on Wednesday, September 7, 2011
    This product is so easy to use. It far surpasses the pump filters in ease of use.
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, Emergencies, Hiking, Outdoors
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy On/Off, Light Weight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Martin in Colorado from Grand Junction, CO on Tuesday, September 6, 2011
    A decent UV water purifier but when backpacking I keep finding it in "on" position because the switch is an exposed push-button that gets turned on by other things in my backpack bumping into it.
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, Emergencies, Outdoors
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy On/Off
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Backpacking Beauty from Boise, Idaho on Saturday, September 3, 2011
    The Steri-Pen is awesome! When I first got it I had my doubts about it but after using it on multiple backpacking/camping trips I've found it works. All the water I drank was from creeks and streams (some of which were flowing out from high mountain lakes), I was hesitant that I'd get sick but never once had any problems when I drank water that was sterilized by the Steri-Pen. In fact, the water tasted the same as the water from my Brita filter at home.
    The pen is small and light which makes it great for backpacking in. It only takes about 90 seconds, and its as simple as stirring it around in your waterbottle. I don't think it could get any simpler.
    The only downside is that you have to watch that you dont fill your waterbottle with small bugs, the pen won't filter those.
    I love the pen and don't go out without it.
    • Best Uses: Camping/Hunting, Emergencies, Outdoors
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Compact, Easy On/Off, Easy to carry, Ergonomic Design, Quick and easy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adu from Indian Peaks on Friday, September 2, 2011
    We had trouble figuring out what to hold the water in while we were sterilizing it. We ended up using a large baggie. Water bottles didn't work well. Of course you need batteries. We *heard* that good batteries will purify 50 liters, but all we know is that we got about 25 liters with lithium Duracells, with battery life to spare.
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: No chemicals
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 16 ... 21
;