• SteriPEN Reviews

SteriPEN
SteriPEN 4.121951 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 7
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CRW from Washougal WA on Tuesday, August 29, 2017
    It arrived on time, nothing damaged or faulty that I can see. I have not had the chance to use it out in back country yet, but a trial at home appeared to work just as instructions laid out.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by G from MT on Monday, May 8, 2017
    This is the second SteriPEN I own. They work great. I recommend using the lithium AA batteries rather than alkaline - they last much much longer. I do wish they'd include the instructions or reminders about what the different lights mean so when its been a few months since you've used it, you had the reminder right there. I just used this and my other one on a 5-day backpacking trip in the desert. They worked like a charm. One caveat is that you can only treat a maximum of one liter at a time.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tyler from Colorado on Thursday, April 27, 2017
    As long as you don't mind the particulate, this is super handy. A physical filter will remove solids, but this kills everything anyhow. Good price too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by doc from canon city, co on Tuesday, December 27, 2016
    A great kit to have for emergency purposes. I have used the stern-pen products for a long time and have learned how reliable they are. They are easy to use and I keep his one in my car for travel and emergency purposes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from Aspen, CO on Tuesday, June 14, 2016
    Very poor product that needs a lot of work in our experience. We ordered two, one arrived DOA and the other only works intermittently.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colin from Oregon on Thursday, May 19, 2016
    This is a great deal for the fantastic SteriPEN. Not much to say about this guy other than that it works and no, it won't filter out the pond-water flavor but at least you can be confident you won't get sick. I try to pre-filter through a t-shirt or similar usually and thought this kit might help. The bottle is good quality and it works like it's supposed to but could use some better engineering as a lot of unfiltered water tends to get trapped in the adapter attachment then can drip in the bottle when you pull out the steriPEN. I tossed it and use it like a naglene bottle.
  • Reviewed by Phil from Mississippi. on Wednesday, May 11, 2016
    First thought, "no more iodine taste", after being let down on day 2 of 4 at bottom of Grand Canyon, and trying to keep a supply of batteries, I now welcome that iodine tablet taste! Pros: instant purified water and iodine taste; Cons: 1) hard to tell if the treatment was sufficient, hence severe upset stomach at bottom of Grand Canyon on 4th trek in 6 years 2) batteries! 3) I went thru 2 sets of 'digital' Energizers in Grand Canyon in 5 days 4) BATTERIES! If football is the game of inches, hiking is the game of ounces and I'll never carry that many batteries again, I'd rather carry my Anker charger for ereader. Bottom line, a 'cool' gadget I'll never use again and will be put on eBay now. Maybe newer versions could have an audible tone indicating true purification?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by utah j from utah on Monday, May 9, 2016
    bought this as an experiment- first attempt with new alkaline batteries went well- then stepped back to using some slightly older batteries and the UV light went on but off quickly- it appears that complaints about the performance are related to a set of batteries that are overall weak or mis-matched weak ones with a couple of strong ones. So, the verdict is that this is a good system provided you have a strong set of 4 AA batteries. I will keep a set of strong new Li batteries for my prepper needs. The 4 star rating will be up graded when i complete the experiments with my Ni/NiH rechargables- I like the compact structure of the unit and it appears to be sturdy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Mike from Reno, NV on Tuesday, April 19, 2016
    Great, light-weight water purifier. Awaiting opportunity to test in the field. Not sure how it will do with muddy, stagnant desert water. But will try at first opportunity. It packs nice and the only weigh really is the batteries in the unit. I am excited to have this and work with it this spring & summer... I plan to report back my findings.... more to be revealed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Michael, Wilderness Explorer from Texas on Monday, April 18, 2016
    This is a great steriPen combo. The cost is great for the amount you get. The difference between this steriPen and the next in the line is the number of uses you get out of the bulb. When you are talking numbers in the thousands, I have no problem with buying the baby brother version. Is I was going to a country with questionable water for several months, That would be different. As a wilderness explorer, This one fits my needs just fine. The one caveot is that the pre-filter works Great... in a large body of water. in limited water sources, another method is advisable.
  • Reviewed by ipartner48 from Alberta on Sunday, April 3, 2016
    Been using a Steripen for 8 years now - used it for multi-day hikes trekking thru Asia and South America. Also used it for treating hotel tap water in Mexico, Cuba, Bhutan, Nepal, Peru - never, ever had any problems. Their is a little trick to using it as I have seen some users have difficultly using it - you have to wait a second or two as the green light blinks AND THEN put in the water bottle. If you press the button and put it straight in the water bottle, light turns red and is not ready to use. Be patient - I highly recommend this device for all your travels.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim from CO on Tuesday, March 22, 2016
    Great when it works, frustrating when it doesn't. I have an older SteriPen I use for travel. It is very finicky about the salinity of the water -- a little too conductive, or not conductive enough, and there you are, using Iodine again. I bought a new one, hoping this had been fixed. It worked once, and the lamp failed. Sierra replaced, and the replacement seems to work with local water -- We'll see how it does on varying water on future trips. Always take chemical back-up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CharBark from Boston on Wednesday, January 20, 2016
    Bought this for my trip to Nepal and India. I plan to use it on tap water to fill up water bottles, I personally wouldn't trust it with water from lakes or rivers ... the only way to trust that is by boiling!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Suprwags from Colorado on Tuesday, December 29, 2015
    Small, simple, fast and very effective way to ensure water is REALLY safe to drink!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ripped Off from USA on Sunday, December 27, 2015
    They failed to mention this SteriPEN Classic is not in the original retail packaging and comes WITHOUT the pre-filter. Everywhere else it came up included the filter for the same price and later found Home Depot had it for less. The "Shipping and Handling" plus return shipping made it not cost effective to send it back. A 20% loss of the purchase price to send it back. This is a common way to keep returns down. "Customer Service" was indifferent and only said they would talk to IT to have the add changed. So far this has not happened. Other friends mentioned problems with quality and service also. NEVER AGAIN Sierra Rip Off Post.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tina from Maine on Sunday, November 8, 2015
    I have used a Steripen in at least 10 countries while backpacking, and I have never had a problem with it. Definately use good quality (preferably rechargeable batteries) and it shouldn't fail you. Can't beat the size to value ratio, I love these.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rock from Montana on Monday, September 21, 2015
    After years of drinking water flavored with iodine or chlorine, I get to drink water that tastes good! Filters work OK, but they are heavy and tend to require a lot of maintenance, cleaning, boiling, etc. This gizmo takes a just a moment and kills everything, protozoa, bacteria, and viruses. They use a commercial version of this technology to sterilize water in hospitals, so no more Legionaire's Disease.

    The only drawback is that the manufacturer does not recommend using standard alkaline batteries, as the electronics in the unit make heavy power demands on the batteries. For a long trip, I would recommend rechargeable batteries and one of those solar panels that straps on the top of your pack.

    We used a wire mesh coffee filter that fits in the top of a water bottle to filter out the big stuff in the water.

    This device is highly recommended for those that want to go into the back of beyond and drink safe water that is not flavored with iodine or chlorine.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Climbhigh from NJ on Monday, September 14, 2015
    This is the original model of the SteriPen Classic and treats only 3000 liters of water.The substantially upgraded model, the Classic 3, operates on four AA batteries batteries. With one set of alkaline batteries, the Classic 3 purifies up to 50 liters or supercharge your Classic 3 with lithium batteries and treat up to 150 liters. It has a lamp life of up to 8,000 liters. The reviews on the Sierra site are confusing as from the descriptions I think the reviews are from all the SteriPen models they sold over the years. I hiked, backpacked and toured through many countries and would always want the best purification system available.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by judithontheriver from North Central Washington on Saturday, September 12, 2015
    Having always used a pump style water filter which often times is bulky, gets clogged, sucks up the muck, using this steriPEN water filter was far to easy. Compact, one touch of a button and within less than 1 minute my water was treated. I have only used alpine lake water and do not know how
    well it would treat "mucky" or warm water. I love this water purifier!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike from Georgia on Tuesday, September 1, 2015
    I love this product. I've used iodine tablets in the past - it takes 30 minutes to take effect before you can drink it, and it tastes nasty! I would also consider this to be a much better option than laying down on your stomach at a stream sucking water through a Lifestraw!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by aba from afton, mn on Monday, August 24, 2015
    did not work. maybe because i was sterilizing water in a steel bottle?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pstm13 from Mountain West on Thursday, August 20, 2015
    Great product and works well for backpacking. If you ever have a problem they have A+ customer service. Just make sure you have the correct rechargeable batteries.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by STPFan from Seattle on Wednesday, August 12, 2015
    Plan to use this in our emergency kit, so it is nice to have something that kills almost anything. Have not used it yet and hope I never have to. We are also getting a filter system.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trolleyguy from Illinois on Monday, August 3, 2015
    Always good to be prepared !!!
  • Reviewed by Kevin Causey from Cave Creek, AZ on Wednesday, June 17, 2015
    My wife recently purchased this for our trip to Peru. I also purchased some purification tablets, but decided that I'd use this in hotels, etc. They say "don't drink the water" and "always buy bottled water" but every day I drank 2-3 nalgene bottles of tap water after using the Steripen.

    Works as described! While others in our group contracted some intestinal issues (probably from eating uncooked veggies or getting ice in alcoholic drinks) we had no issues whatsoever.

    This is a must if you travel. Small, packs easily and does the job.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from NY on Monday, June 1, 2015
    It works as described....guess we'll know better after using in India for the summer.!
  • Reviewed by ipartner48 from Alberta on Tuesday, April 28, 2015
    Their are water filters and water purifiers - make sure you buy the purifier to eliminate virsuses as well. As for this unit, once the batteries are in, press the button on the unit, wait for the green blinking light and then insert it into the water bottle. Works slick as can be! Used it on tap water from my hotel in Cuba, Mexico, Kathmandu and Bhutan. Highly recommended!!
  • Reviewed by Crispy from Illinois on Thursday, April 9, 2015
    Tried it out as soon as I got it, and nothing. I replaced the batteries, tried again, and now get the bulb failure (3 red flashes then 1 green, then repeats). Not sure I feel like I could trust this on a hike. Guess I'm sticking with my filter and boiling. Too bad, because the idea of it is great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JDivine from Richmond, Virginia on Tuesday, March 10, 2015
    LOVE this item. Compared to what I was using it is like cutting butter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim from AR on Sunday, February 1, 2015
    Very compact. A lot easy to carry than a water filter. Saves a lot of pack room. The real proof of effectiveness comes after you purify some water and then don't get sick!!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 7
;