Wetfly
Wetfly 4.218543 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 31
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SK from WNC on Monday, February 19, 2018
    Seems to be well made and while light weight it still feels sturdy. The rubber netting is fantastic. I fish the small streams and rivers of WNC so this net should fit my needs well. It handled a 2 pound 16” rainbow with ease. I will say if you are planning on using for fish 10 pounds and up, the wooden loop above the handle holding the netting may not fair well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flyaker from San Mateo CA on Wednesday, February 14, 2018
    Item was returned. Received a similar, longer net that was damaged, indicating how weak The netting is. And And inferior product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flyaker from San Mateo CA on Wednesday, February 14, 2018
    The rubber net was received damaged. I returned this item and a shorter version also.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steven from MD on Tuesday, January 16, 2018
    This is a nice net especially for the price nice hardwood with the rubber catch and release net
  • Reviewed by Coach from Colorado Rockies on Sunday, November 5, 2017
    Thanks to STP for the easy return.

    Sadly the way the sections fit into one another is a design flaw (it is a telescoping rod). Seating the rod parts too tight will result in them pulling through. Seating them too lightly will allow flexing in a bad way. The result will be time spent on the side of a stream repairing the rod or worse, breaking it.

    Other than this flaw, the product is pretty cool. I wish it worked.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by On the River from Hiltons, Va on Thursday, October 19, 2017
    The rod cast well, good quality, but did not have a swivel tip.
  • Reviewed by Lpshop from Wisconsin on Monday, October 2, 2017
    Broke after the second use as I slipped it back into the case. The "warranty" costs $50 plus shipping. What a sad sad warranty.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gary C. from Lancaster, CA on Monday, September 25, 2017
    A little thick and heavy but still a nice fly box for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe from Atlanta on Wednesday, July 26, 2017
    I've been curious about this discipline for quite a while. One holdback was the length of most rods - 12 to 15 feet. This works on big water but not on small streams like I have in North Georgia. I fished this 8' rod last week and found it perfect for these waters. I could use a highstick nymph only approach with my own rods, and I often do, but Tenkara forces you to concentrate on only one method. Without the constant thoughts of, should I switch flies? Dry/dropper? Weight and indicator? I was able to concentrate on where I was fishing and really cover water. My first fish was a beautiful 10" streambred rainbow. I may not become a full Tenkara guy but I do enjoy the stripped down approach!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Will from CO on Monday, July 17, 2017
    I bought this kit to keep around for friends & family try Tenkara. Unfortunately this rod (8' length') is too short, but mostly too stiff to present a dry fly effectively. The kit comes with a rod, tippet, flies, and... fly line? The essence of tenkara fishing is a light line, the lightest you can get away, coupled with a soft rod. Switching out the fly line for some #3 level line was a mild improvement in casting & fly presentation, not satisfactory though. There are other scenarios where it could work, nymping, worm fishing, etc. Wetfly dropped the ball on this one, in fact I take some offense to them marketing this as a beginners tenkara kit. Even at 70$ it is a waste, save your money for a real tenkara rod.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 31
;